ZoneAlarm 10.2.073.000 was released to the public on Aug 1, 2012

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by NICK ADSL UK, Aug 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
  2. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Last time I checked ZA it used a stupid amount of RAM.
    Is it still so?
     
  3. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Yep,isn't that a shame.
     
  4. paniccom

    paniccom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Posts:
    100
    Hmm, what do you think of these numbers? (Win XP, SP3):

    WTM ZA.jpg

    The weird thing is, it feels lighter on my system than ComodoFW + Avast AV did. Web is faster, and pgms open quicker.:blink:
     
  5. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Can be normal, ZA (with AV) tends to maximise the use of available RAM as compared to HD caching. So you will see vsmon jumping when scanning, during and for sometime after the AV updates.

    The problem is that RAM usage tell nothings about lightness of software on systems. Its more about: if it works nicely under your system then is a keeper, if not then not even 10GIGA Ram could make any difference. In essence, don't bother about statistics on RAM or I/O... Just try any tool yourself .... live ;)
     
  6. paniccom

    paniccom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Posts:
    100
    Good thoughts. Thanks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.