Zone Alarm with Defensewall

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Mongol, Dec 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mongol

Mongol Registered Member

I am one of those who jumped on the free Zonealarm Pro deal a short time back. So far so good. I am giving Defensewall a trial and was wondering how the combo of Avira Premium, Zone Alarm Pro and Defensewall sounded as a trio to any current users out there. I have given Mamutu the temporary boot while this trial goes on. I'm new to Defensewall but so far it seems to work like a dream...:thumb: :D

2. Rivalen

Rivalen Registered Member

I ran DW with free Antivir + Outpost FW for quite a while without problems. So why shouldnt ZoneAlarm work as good as OP did in such a combo - I dont know. OP might be a better FW, but youve made a choice.

Best Regards

3. jmonge

jmonge Registered Member

i had zone alarm free with defensewall and it slowed me down ,then i tried comodo and is just fine:thumb:

4. Mongol

Mongol Registered Member

I went back to my good old Look N Stop and have noticed a remarkable difference in performance with Defensewall. This just may be the ticket...:)

5. Feandur

Feandur Registered Member

Hi Mongol:
    I'm relatively new to posting...but when I saw your posting on exactly the combo I was thinking of using I'm thought I'll just jump in...

Would have been VERY interested in learning your experience of using ZAP with its HIPs turned off (that is: uncheck the Component firewall and OS firewall check boxes)... My guess is its best just to have 1 HIPS running.

PS: There is a known issue with DW's skin engine at the moment if I recall another post correctly...could be a factor?

Cheers,
    Feandur.

6. Mongol

Mongol Registered Member