Zone Alarm Question

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ftwynne59, Nov 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ftwynne59

    ftwynne59 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    185
    Hi

    Still a relative newb re: firewalls.....I have ZA free, and on boot-up, even before net-connection (Broadband), the ZA System Tray Icon flashes red & green indicating inbound and outbound traffic. What is happening here, as I always assumed there has to be an active net connection for ZA to display net traffic ?

    Anyone ??....o_O
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,901
    ZA will also flash the traffic lights when there is any loopback (127.0.0.1) traffic on your machine.
     
  3. ftwynne59

    ftwynne59 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    185

    Kerodo

    please explain what you mean by this.....is this normal expected behaviour...or something else ??

    As I said.......I'm a newbie, and need educating !!!!:)

    Cheers
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,901
    Yes, it's totally normal and no cause for concern. For more info take a look here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loopback or Google for "loopback" or "localhost" or "127.0.0.1" and so on.
     
  5. ftwynne59

    ftwynne59 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    185
    Kerodo

    Thanks for your responses.....I'm now more comfortable and a little less paranoid !!!

    Many thanks
    :D :D :D
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. bellgamin
    Replies:
    58
    Views:
    3,056
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.