Zone Alarm and Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Fajo, Sep 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Ok I have Avira Suite and ZA Pro.. my main question is should I keep OS firewall in ZA Activated or does Avira have the same thing Just named different ?

    I don't want to be Overlapping protection

    And just a FYI the Avira firewall was disabled at install so no it is not running.
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I would say no, ZA's OS Firewall is nothing like what Avira has, they are largely separate features and coverage.. Avira is just AV and antispyware with anti rootkit, ZA OS Firewall may overlap slightly, but I"d say go ahead and use both. I think I'd even go so far as to say just use Avira Suite and skip ZA altogether though...
     
  3. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    Main reasion I use ZA is becuse I like its outbound protection.
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Ok, fair enough, then I think I might just use ZA for firewall and go with Avira Premium, not the Avira Suite... But just my 2 cents, as usual..... :)
     
  5. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    you lose the rootkit with pream don't you ?
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
  7. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    Main Thing I see there that is different is Driveby and Anti bot...

    how Needed are these sence I have yet to read up on Anti Bot tho Driveby. I would think the webscanner would catch it for the most part.
     
  8. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Avira lacks HIPS, so ZA Pro with its OSFirewall (HIPS) will be a good match.
    While Avira can detect rootkits via scanning, ZA via OSFirewall can provide proactive protection against Rootkits.

    They're complementary if you ask me. IMO, best to disable firewall in Avira IS and use ZA as complete firewall/HIPS solution.
     
  9. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    My impression is that Avira is just a straight AV (firewall if you get the suite). There shouldn't be any overlap between Avira and ZA Pro.
     
  10. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    Zone alarm "os firewall"is a HIPS,i don't know why they've named it firewall,and like others said avira suite has not such a function.Probably they'll integrate a HIPS module next year.
    Anti bot is part of the mailguard,but even when i used the premium version,i did not installed the mailguard so i don't know exactly what it does.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.