Zone Alarm 8.0.020.000

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by AlizeZ, Nov 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlizeZ

    AlizeZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    38
    Does anyone use Zone Alarm 8.0.020.000?

    How is it performing?
    I downloaded and installed this version from FileHippo and so far have had no noticeable problems, even though I had read several posts about ZA 8 not performing properly.
    I did run test at Shields Up and everything passed (and in 'stealth' mode - I believe that is what it is called).
    Would appreciate any comments as I am new at this.

    Thank you.
    Alice
     
  2. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    Hi Alice,

    I just installed it. However I am confused why zonealarm only offers ZA version 7, and not 8.

    Who wrote version 8? o_O
     
  3. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I am running ZAAV (8.0.059.000) from ZoneAlarm.com. It looks like I updated from 8.0.020.000 on the morning of November 6th.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  4. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    The free version from the link you provided is version 7, not 8.
     
  5. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I guess that is a question for ZoneAlarm, then
     
  6. Bluenile

    Bluenile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    I'm running v8.0.020.000 Free here alongside Avira Premium A/V on Vista HP (I had to download it from Filehippo as ZA give you v7 now on their site).

    It seems fine. Nice improved interface and problem free.
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    According to ZoneLabs Release Histories, 8.0.059.000 was released to the public on October 15, 2008.

    I've been running it for only a couple of days and everything seems fine. At least I didn't lose internet connectivity like with a previous release. ;)
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Is ZoneAlarm now using Kaspersky as base? I've seen ZoneAlarm Free 8 installing "klif" driver, which belongs to Kaspersky. Any info on this?
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    You mean version 7? Yes, ZA 7 has ZA Suite embedded in the installation.
    Version 8 should not, also considering the size. i.e. ZA7 44MB and ZA8 26MB

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  10. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Fax,
    Is ZA8 26MB available anywhere? All I can see is ZA-free v7 on the ZA downloads site. We're talking free, the firewall ZA, right?

    Now ZA free 5.5 was 6meg, it doubled in size by the time of 6.5, to 13. So is 26 of ZA8 still without any features that are not a firewall?
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    No, that I know... only sites outside ZA website

    I guess natural evolution of software bloating... :D
    With HDs easily going now to a standard 1TB... 26MB is proportionally almost 0 space.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  12. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    :) :)
    Thanks, Fax!
     
  13. bgfalconboy

    bgfalconboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    226
    I just upgraded to ZA 8 Free. Now my browsing has gotten a lot slower for some reason. Pages just don't want to load as fast as they were before. I did an upgrade install keeping my previous settings so I don't know what the issue is. I'm seriously thinking about forgetting ZA anymore and trying Online Armor. I've heard though that you have to get rid of ZA completely but I'm not sure how to do that.
     
  14. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    First, look at this: Current workarounds for 8.0.020.000 performance issues recommended by ZoneAlarm.
    If that step fails to improve the slow performance, here are the New, easier uninstall instructions 2006-08-29. Good luck!
     
  15. bgfalconboy

    bgfalconboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    226
    I thought of trying to go back to the previous version of ZA but decided I want to give OA free a try instead. I uninstalled ZA but not sure if I should still reboot to SAFE MODE before I start getting rid of any left over ZA files and deleting the ZA registry keys.
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    bgfalconboy, looking at the uninstall instructions link I provided, once ZA is prevented from loading at startup (effectively stopping vsmon), you should be able to eliminate any files and registry keys without going into Safe Mode. You could try Revo Uninstaller (Advanced setting) to do the same thing. I'm still using an old version (5.5.094.000) of ZA so I have never uninstalled it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.