Zone Alarm 7.0.462.000

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Vettetech, Nov 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Posts: 6


    View Profile Email Personal Message (Online)



    Ok well I tired ZA years ago and it slows your boot up time down quit a bit. Found Comodo 2.4 and said goodbye to ZA. Well now with Comodo 3.0 I was getting sick of all the pop ups. so I thought I try the "new and improved ZA". Still the same bs. Why make a product that slows your pc down so much. Went back to Comodo 3.0 and disabled balloon tips.


    Performance improvements:
    Improved system boot time
    Additional Stability improvements:
    Fixed occasional crashes in vsmon
    Fixed occasional hangs during shutdown
    Fixed occasional hangs in UpdClient.
    Fixed various install and upgrade issues
    Fixed window activation issue associated with automatic updates
    Compatibility: Fixed compatibility issue with Intuit Software
    Ease-of-use improvements:
    New: Added Automatic Network Configuration to Wizard (will automatically add Domain Controller, DNS, DHCP, Network Printers and, mapped network drives to trusted zone)
    Changed update frequency default to every 3 hours
    Customization improvements:
    Added Global Reset-to-Default feature (invoked via Ctrl+Shift+right click on ZA icon in system tray).
    Various other fixes and improvements

    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...462_000_en.exe
     
  2. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    If you really want to use ZA, I suggest using 2.x - Back then it was just a firewall and nothing else. Good times indeed.
    Now of course there may be security issues by using an outdated firewall, so it's entirely up to you if you wanna go by that approach.
     
  3. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    I already said I went back to Comodo 3.0
     
  4. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,211
    I don't understand what do you mean I'm using ZA Pro and I never had any problems with it,none has ever been able to break through ZA Pro (and Nod32) and I've been on all kinds of websites.
     
  5. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    No matter what Zone Alarm slows your boot up time and shut down time. I like ZA but Comodo keeps me happy,
     
  6. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    No Firewall is perfect, but I still like the ZA design. The pop-ups are a lot less compared to Comodo and I can find what I need w/out searching the help files.

    I wish that ZA had a better free firewall and I think they are missing the boat on that! I was lucky to snag a free license from them when they had the free offer on Patch Tuesday.
     
  7. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Thats how I got mine. But I switched back to Comodo 3.0
     
  8. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,211
    Well,it doesn't slow my boot up time,it's really fast.Basically,right now I'm using ZA Pro and Nod32-they are compatible.
    Everything works just fine.

    Maybe you have unused files of the previous softwares,I had the same problem with Agnitum files,but when I reinstalled the whole system from a scratch,everything worked just fine.
     
  9. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    No not true...................tons of people complain about ZA boot up and it happens even to my cousin on his pc.
     
  10. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,211
    Sure,there was a bug in version 7.0.302.000 but this version should work just fine.Am I the only guy here who has no problems with ZA Proo_O
    Since I frequently re-install the whole Windows XP Pro system from scratch,this could be a factor why I really don't have any issues with ZA Pro.
    Did you try Registry mechanic or other cleaners?
    Honestly I truly don't know what could be the reason for ZA Pro not working well.
     
  11. mmiranda

    mmiranda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    ZA Pro user here for 2 years with no problems encountered.

    No system slowdown either.

    With all the raves and good reviews Comodo and OA firewalls are getting, I've been tempted to switch but why mess with a tried and tested setup?
     
  12. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I run Vista Home Premium, so my choices for firewalls are limited. I was running Zone Alarm Security Suite when I ran XP.

    I was running PC Tools Firewall Plus V2, tried the V3, went back to V2 immediately.

    I tried the newly released Comodo V3. It crashed and burned, so I deinstalled it ASAP.

    Right now I am running ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite 7.1.078.000, with about 10 days or so left on the trial period. It does not seem to adversely affect the operation of the PC, although startup time does take about an additional 15 seconds. I wish the Vista version had the full functionality and feature set that the XP version has.
     
  13. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    That 15 ses at the welcome screen the 15 more secs to get your icons is uncalled for and its not only me. I know of three other people who have the same problem. But once its up and running your fine.
     
  14. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I don't actually have any icons on the desktop, but, regardless, I am OK with the 15 seconds anyway. I take it you are not, and that is your prerogative.
     
  15. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Your using the older version of ZA.
     
  16. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    No, I am not.

    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:7.1.078.000
    TrueVector version:7.1.078.000
    Driver version:7.1.078.000
    Anti-virus engine version:3
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.162.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200711.2885
    AntiSpam version:5.0.0.8843
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2007
  17. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
  18. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I'm done arguing with you. But I will leave you to ponder the numbering scheme and the fact that you are claiming 7.0.462.000 (for XP) is somehow newer than 7.1.078.000 for Vista. Although I am annoyed that the XP version seems to be getting more frequent updates than the Vista version.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2007
  19. Wordward

    Wordward Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    707
    I'm now using the Anti-spyware version again which is very close to the Pro one, and it is running very well with Avast Home. I had also used ThreatFire with it before and it still didn't seem to slowdown my PC, but with or without TF it does slow down the boot process somewhat. Still, I like ZAAS a lot more than Webroot Desktop Firewall as it is so much more full featured than WDF, and I must add that I am a little bit afraid to go near Comodo 3.0 at this time. For for what it's worth it got a great review here.

    http://www.zdnet.com.au/reviews/sof...m-Anti-Spyware-7/0,139023452,339274487,00.htm
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2007
  20. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
  21. Wordward

    Wordward Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    707
    I am itching to try Comodo Pro 3.0 and from what I have seen of the features and GUI it is nicer than ZA. However leak tests aside, I'm not yet convinced that Comodo is "far" superior to ZAAS or Pro. LOL.
     
  22. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  23. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Ok I am back to ZAAS. Comodo has way too many options and that pending file thing is stupid.
     
  24. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,211

    This is not true.ZA Pro fails exactly 4 leak-tests + 4 FPR tests,that's maximum 8 leak-tests.
    Practically nothing.
     
  25. CoolWebSearch

    CoolWebSearch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,211
    That's true, on my computer,too it takes 15 seconds to startup time-but this doesn't bother me,it's really fast when my system is already started.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.