ZenOK Free Antivirus 2012

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Cloud, Mar 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    Nice bright colorful GUI. :argh:

    Anyone know of any reviews for it?
     
  2. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    You can contact ZenOK support by submitting a support ticket or calling 1-800-340-4196.

    Regards,
     
  3. DuoWan

    DuoWan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Is it decent to use ZenOK as a primary antivirus?
     
  4. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, now that it seems that major bug was fixed. However, I recommend not using the toolbar and replace it with BitDefender Trafficlight. You can download the old v1.0 and just wait till ZenOK auto-upgrades you to v2.0 (whenever they ship it out).

    It uses the BD 2010 engine, btw. Be sure to send them your feedback! :)
     
  5. AssassinKID

    AssassinKID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Australia
    So it's not to be used alongside other AVs? Am I correct?
     
  6. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Like with any other security product, I wouldn't recommend it.

    My setup was: ZenOK Free AV + BitDefender Trafficlight + MBAM
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Why do i keep on getting stupid ZenOk backup instead of ZenOk Antivirus? The text says antivirus but when i install it its just some stupid backup utility.
    Can't these ppl make something right like ever?
     
  8. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Um, sorry about that. You can download the latest v1.0 from Softpedia and work with that until they change the installer on their website.

    Or call them at 1-800-340-4196. They have become slower at responding to emails lately. :)
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772

    I had the same issue. It's hard to take them serious as an AV company.
     
  10. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Not really...more on the lines of data loss protection.

    Anyways, did you install v1.0 instead?
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011
  11. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    I installed their software twice, but quickly uninstalled it. The first time ended up just being the backup, even though the ZenOK site said it was the AV. Then I download the AV from softpedia, but it was v1. I wanted to try v2, since you announced it was out, but not sure how to obtain it. And I am not going to call them and ask for it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  12. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    There is a chance that they only released v2 for ZenOK Backup and have yet to release it for the AV. The tweet wasn't specific...
     
  13. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Yep, I was right. Latest ZenOK v1 download link.
     
  14. catilley1092

    catilley1092 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    I have XP Mode, is ZenOK AV 2012 worth my time to tryout? Currently, I'm using a 30 day trial of Avast Pro AV, after that runs out, I may consider this AV.

    What I've been doing for security in XP Mode, is using trials of paid products, which isn't a bad thing to do in a virtual machine. I would like to give ZenOK a shot, if there is at least some positive reviews, a forum, and not a RAM hog.

    Cat
     
  15. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    There aren't many reviews, nor do they have a forum yet. It isn't a RAM hog though.
     
  16. catilley1092

    catilley1092 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Thank you, I'll continue to use trial versions of paid products.

    Also, I've signed up for & received both beta IS suites from F-Secure & ESET, I may use one of them next time around. I have them both installed, (F-Secure on XP Media Center, ESET Smart Security 5 on Win 7 Pro), they both are promising future solutions.

    Cat
     
  17. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
  18. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    They require a phone number?!?!

    The gui is unique, and they drastically reduce resource usage. But I am not convinced this program provides real-time protection. Every link I tried went right through with no signal that the program was finding any viruses. I finally had to stop testing when my VM become hostage to ransomware. Anyone else test this program out?
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  19. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    Phone number isn't required.

    Did it finish updating? Odd results...it detected a few of the threats I threw at it.
     
  20. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Yes it finished updating. Maybe it doesn't work in Virtualbox.
     
  21. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    You are aware that there still isn't a popup alert when it detects a threat?
     
  22. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772

    Is that a bug, or is it designed to be like that?
     
  23. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    It was designed that way. So you would need to check the UI on occasion to see what ZenOK found.

    This will change soon...
     
  24. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    I just tested it again, and after a few links I noticed I could not open task mgr. Hitman Pro found a bunch of issues, and the ZenOk gui reports zeros across the board for Viruses, Spyare, adware, dialers, etc... So I still feel realtime protection is either broken, or completely ineffective.
     
  25. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,029
    Location:
    United States
    I'll ask them if the program works in virtualbox, just to be sure.

    Windows OS and browser?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.