ZAPro 6.xxx

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Rico, Feb 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,701
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi All,

    I have the latest version of ZApro. ZA is always the last tray item to load, and can take forever to load. I told ZA to not watch my AV (not supported by ZA), I've turned off ZA's AS (used as an "on demand"). Also every once-in-awhile ZA won't load at boot-up, which generally requires pulling the plug, to reboot. When ZA misbehaves its always good after a reboot. Also Auto Lock, ID lock & cache clean are off. Also I have Ad Blocking at high

    Issues:

    1. Long time loading
    2. Occasional not loading
    3. Ad-Blocking often times, still requires saying no to an ad which, wants to run. prompted to allow/not allow ad. see pic. Should ZA's ad block high, stop this.

    Thanks
    rico
     

    Attached Files:

    • ad.jpg
      ad.jpg
      File size:
      24.9 KB
      Views:
      322
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I noticed starting with 6.1 that the GUI seems to take a long time to load on my machine also, longer than previous versions, however, I'm sure the service is loaded quite early in the startup process, so there's no exposure there.. just takes the GUI a while to finally load and appear in the tray. I also doubt there's anything you can do to change it unless one of the ZA experts here has a tip..
     
  3. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Not answering you Rico but , to Kerodo's answer . You ARE certainly protected . Regardless of when it pops into the system tray
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Yep, right you are Creature Hollywood.. :D
     
  5. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    ZA comes in two components: The True Vector Engine(vsmon.exe) which is the very soul of ZA's firewall and the GUI(zlclient.exe). The system tray is part of the GUI.

    The True Vector Engine is the very first to load up, even at the Windows Welcome/login screen since it starts as a service. The True Vector Engine blocks everything(inbound and outbound) unless told otherwise by zlclient.exe. When you login, zlclient.exe is usually the last process to load up and hence the late appearance of the system tray icon. However you are still protected while waiting for the GUI to load as the True Vector Engine is blocking any inbound connections and pausing outbound connections til it can receive instructions from zlclient.exe.
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Thanks hollywoodpc and unhappy_viewer for the confirmation on that. That is typically the case for most of the firewalls, for example Outpost and Kerio as well as others.
     
  7. BILL G

    BILL G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    MN USA
    I use ZAF Ver. 5.5 . At Startup as soon as the Taskbar shows up I RC on it,LC on Wind Task Manager Process. If I am fast I will see zonealarm exe for 1-2 seconds.What does it Do & Why does it Come & Go so fast?
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,038
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    During startup of the ZA GUI I now see a black screen for like 2 seconds and if I shutdown my machine the ZAclient will crash, very strange, but overall it´s a nice product. ;)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Rules
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    169
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.