ZA free?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by minacross, Dec 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    658
    does ZA free have HIPS? o_O
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2007
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,900
    Nope, just a simple basic firewall with basic app control. No HIPS....
     
  3. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Zone Alarm Pro doesnt have that either. Zone is a good firewall though. The free one ranks poorly but Pro and Spyware Edition are good.
     
  4. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    The ZA firewalls that have Triple Defense,specifically the OS Firewall component- have a HIPS type protection.

    Whether or not the freeware version incorporates this OSFirewall is impossible to find out.
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,900
    No, it doesn't...
     
  6. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    take your word for it:)
     
  7. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,846
    Location:
    localhost
    No HIPS on free.
    HIPS is present on all the others ZA paid products (ZAPRO, ZAAV, ZAAS, ZASS...)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  8. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
  9. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    And the ZoneAlarm Security Suite has many more features under XP than it does under Vista.
     
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,846
    Location:
    localhost
    Yep, certain features needs a complete re-design under VISTA and it takes time. Its similar to what has happen KIS/KAV and the limited HIPS due to VISTA security design.

    A good addition, security wise, to ZASS in VISTA is ZA ForceField.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.