ZA ForceField 1.0.253.0 Beta released

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by fax, Feb 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    ZA ForceField 1.0.253.0 Beta


    Don't shoot the messenger.... :D

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  2. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    If this had a configuration for Opera I would try it.
     
  3. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Thanks for the heads up. Last time I tried it added 5 processes. Hopefully thats isn't the case anymore.
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Uuuhm.. that depends on the number of IE/FF windows/tabs you have opened...
    (but I haven't check it lately)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  5. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Ok cool. I usually have around 6 -8 tabs open in FF.
     
  6. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I've been attracted to ZA Forcefield from day one. Ran it in an earlier beta and I liked it. I've downloaded the latest, removed Returnil for the moment, and will play with ZAF for a while.

    I don't know if it's as secure as Returnil. I haven't read anything one way or the other. I can say this. MSIE 6 which I use, is a Lot faster with ZAF installed, almost on a par with Kmeleon 1.1.3 (which apparently doesn't run under ZAF). Then, I can't get FF 2.xx to load with ZAF either and can't find where to select the browser. No matter, I can live with MSIE for the time being.

    If somebody has run any malware tests on ZAF, I'm hoping they post the results.

    *edit* I have discovered that I'll either have to run Sandboxie or ZAF. When I engage Sandboxie, ZAF doesn't run.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2008
  7. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Installed it. Tried it. Uninstalled it. Normally it takes Firefox about 5 seconds to open. With Forcefield it takes 30 seconds. Entire pc is actually slower. Guess thats why they call it beta.
     
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi,

    I have not tried it, but I like the concept (at least of what I understand about it).

    Normal modus (sort of Policy Sandbox Plus):
    - anti fishing
    - anti keylogger
    - starts browser with limited user rights

    Private browser modus
    - virtual sandbox (like SandBoxie and SafeSpacePersonal).

    I will be watching this ap.

    Regards Kees
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi!
    I think the 'virtual sandbox' is both active in normal and private mode.

    The only difference between the two is that the virtual data in private browsing mode is erased as soon as the windows is closed. While in normal mode virtual data is kept up to when is cleared manually via the FF interface.

    I don't know about memory usage of other sandbox applications but FF seems light on my system or at least I cannot notice any slowdown.
    I see between 5 to 6 processes in the task manager (VISTA with 4Giga of RAM). With a total use of 113MB memory footprint with three IE7 tabs opened. Seems a lot but you have to discount the IE process that is replaced by FF. i.e. on balance between 35-45MB memory usage overall (depending on tabs/windows opened).

    How is the memory usage of other sandboxing utilities?? I would be courious to know.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2008
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Not on the box with GeSWall and HauteSecure, but DefenseWall is between 10K and 25K
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Ok.. thanks :)
    Anyone on Sanboxie and SafeSpace?

    Fax
     
  12. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    With Firefox open, Sandboxie is using five processes totalling 16mb of memory useage. If not running anything sandboxed then there are two processes running using about 8mb.

    Please consider this is on my pc and on others the useage may vary. I'm running it on Windows XP SP2.

    muf
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Thanks...
    Fax
     
  14. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    Agree, it slow downs everything to the max.
     
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    No slow down on VISTA or XP machine here... :)
    But both machine are clean of multiple security tools. Only a main AV/AS

    Still a bit unstable on VISTA.
    An my password utility does not work anymore correctly even if I shutdown the anti-keylogging...

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan

    Attached Files:

  17. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Thanks aigle...
    Does SafeSpace replace IE with its own process or on top of SafeSpace memory footprint you have to add IE memory?

    In other words: is IE process still in task manager when using SafeSpace?

    Fax
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  18. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    I tried safespace it its slower then Force Field.
     
  19. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Well, so much for ZA Forcefield. Had to remove it. It ran fine for a day or so and then started locking up my browser (MSIE6). It would freeze for as much as a half a minute after clicking a button before working.

    I noticed no slowdown when it worked. It's a Beta program. Maybe I'll try the next version, or wait until it's released. I'm back to Returnil.
     
  20. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Yes, IE is there as well.
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Ah, OK... thanks for the add-on info! :)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.