Your thoughts on Trend Micro?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by berryracer, Oct 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I see it comes amongst the best in detection rates according to AV Comparatives yet I have never heard of it nor heard anyone here mentioning it.

    Is it heavy on the system? How good is it really?
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    There since 1988 and not the smallest :)

    http://www.trendmicro.com/us/about-us/contact/index.html#locations
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I was a user in the past, and I wasn't happy with it's progress when it came to cleaning malware. Other than that it has always been a decent product, but I guess you'll find better value for your money in some other products than Trend Micro, especially when looking for suites etc. :)
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Yes I did notice that it is the most expensive, and since its AV Comparative results were decent, I was wondering why noone here mentions it

    Also, is it heavy on the system like Kaspersky?
     
  5. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
  6. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Switching again. Lol
     
  7. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    RAM has 0 effect on performance in my perception. Most AVs these days use the same amount of RAM comparatively but what matter is how it handles file scanning.

    Kaspersky has a decent amount of RAM usage but it would make my gaming laptop crawl and beg for mercy like a turtle when for example I launch a huge file (such as some large setup file)

    What matters is how the system feels when you use it not RAM

    just my 2 cents
     
  8. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    It needs a Jenny Craig Diet.
     
  9. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    Well, the system (4.00 GB of RAM, Dual Core CPU 3.07 GHz, Win 7) feels slow :(
     
  10. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    That's what I wanted to know :(

    Thanks for saving me the hassle of trying it bro
     
  11. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    Trend Micro is decent, although if you look at its whole product dynamic tests of AV-Comparatives its the best of the lost.
    And AV-Comparatives feels thats the whole product dynamic tests better reflect the most features of the product.

    the configuring options are a bit too spartan,does not have hips or outbound firewall which is a big disappointment.
     
  12. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    Well... According to my past experience, Trend Micro provided simplest interface and somehow I had the illusion that it would also be very light.

    BUT, it was not. Only the interface was simple, the suite was not light ( I was say moderate, especially boot time).

    The problem with TM is it is not scoring consistently good in tests. you could see great variance b/w AV-Test and AVC results.
    I would love to know if someone tried the new Trend Micro and how light/heavy it felt.
     
  13. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yeah man skip it. from reading your posts and actually testing it and yes i own a lic to use to test it with i would skip it. its not as bad as kaspersky but prob much heavier than you want. and it doesnt even have it own firewall which some dont care about but instead it has a windows firewall "booster" its a windows firewall controller and uses the built in windows firewall. price wise its the same or more than anything else for the suite and they dont even have their own firewall or a lic'ed one like bullguard etc
     
  14. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    I have a free license for Trend's Maximum Security 2013. I had it installed for almost an hour before uninstalling it. All it gave me was a terribly slow boot and unacceptable Internet browsing performance. I didn't even bother to see how much memory it was taking; the performance hit told me enough..:thumbd:
     
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    I'd forgotton I was using it. But looking at the screenshots I remembered I have it installed on one of my netbooks. I installed it on two netbooks - the first one intentially, on the second one it was delivered as an update via MSI's Live Update software - the update had the cryptic name of TMIS if I remember correctly, and it did not state actually what TMIS was. (I presume if I was already running av software, then this download would not have been offered).

    Both were the same version - but the one downloaded from MSI had MSI branding.

    It caused noticable slowdowns. On the first netbook I uninstalled it, and on the second one I have real time protection permanently disabled. I am not running the very latest version - recently MSI Live Update offered a more recent version for download which I have downloaded yet.
     
  17. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! I agree with the collective user observations. I believe on a previous thread I had mentioned what a pain in the butt Trend was in Uninstall...it still mentions that it's supposedly installed on my system...beats me but both Eset and Ikarus installers claim that it's still active. I thought I had completely eradicated it's registry remnants...but I guess not. I tried the Trend uninstaller...Revo...and Opswatt uninstaller...whole lot of fun...sic! Anyone have any suggestions as to what too look for in the registry...as like a lot of us I'm not knowlegeable enough in feeling confident in initiating a registry purge. Sincerely...Securon
     
  18. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Hello Securon,Have you looked for left over drivers of trend,Usually the drivers will start with TD or TM. If you not sure about a driver you can right click and select it's properties to confirm they belong to TM.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012
  19. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Not hevay at all,Best WebGuard(failGuarg i'm not sure).:thumb:Do not have a HIPS and Firewall for me is super.That what i'm searching for.Browsing very light and no slowdawn.
     
  20. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Thanks Dark Shadow for your prompt and insightful advice. I'll try your recommendation...and get back shortly...with an update. Sincerely...Securon
     
  21. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    After they went cloud with the Titanium, I always liked them. Usually it slows down for some boots but things starts settle down after that but be some cache building issues.
     
  22. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    TM is the 2nd worst AV of all time. The worst is McAf**.

    I'm serious as a heart attack BR.
     
  23. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Toronto
    This may help when an entry in WBEM hasn't been deleted but should have been. However, I haven't done this so you use at your own risk. Make a backup before doing this.

    In a cmd window, Run with admin privilege:
    1) enter command "net stop winmgmt"

    then answer yes to the questions of stopping other dependent services.
    2) use Explorer to delete the WBEM folder(s) and contents.
    Find them in c:\windows\system32 and c:\windows\syswow64

    3) enter command "net start winmgmt"
    the WBEM folder(s) and contents will be rebuilt.


    Good luck,


    J
     
  24. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
  25. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    in my very limited testing, i have found that trend micro's heuristics are very good.

    every time i upload a 'never before uploaded' malware sample to virus total, trend micro is nearly always the one that detects it using heuristics.

    shame about the performance hit otherwise i would definitely recommend it to clients
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.