Your opinion of Online Armor Personal Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ratchet, Nov 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    We've fixed the cause of this now and an update will go out to paid users in the next day or two.


    Mike
     
  2. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    I wait a couple of days and maybe I try one more time to see if it works. I really liked the free version. It had a small bug that I could live with, green network window would not close sometimes. But this "OA service will not start"-bug in paid version really p...d me off. Sorry if I did sound angry, thats just because I was....angry.

    If it works next time i try...a BIG thanks to you, and I may use it if no other problems occur.

    I will now update my thread in the OA forum to let people there know this is beeing fixed.

    (You did not start working with this fix after my posting did you? Because then you are faster than lightning)
     
  3. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No, we looked at this non stop from the moment of the first report and it was solved late yesterday night (it's mid-morning here in Sydney).

    It will go to beta team today for validation, but the update will come quickly because it does fix some important bugs and we need to get it out.


    Mike
     
  4. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    When Vista ready.
     
  5. SecOmnius

    SecOmnius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    In the Light of PARTHENON
    -Strong & Intelligent HIPS (less hassle than the D+ of Comodo 3.0).
    -The 'Run Safer' feature significantly increases its security.
    -Made my Surfing speed slower (compared to Comodo 3.0).

    Nothing is perfect...
    You can't have everything in life...
    :D
     
  6. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    I also slowed my surfing speed down even without the web shield on.
     
  7. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    I did not notice any surfing slowdown. I had webshield ON. But I will look closer next time I install. Im going to wait another day or two to make sure my problem is fixed.
     
  8. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Free version doesnt have web shield. Try loading tab after tab after tab. I want my pages to open up in less then 2 secs and with OA it took 8-10 sometimes. With Comodo they open right up in about 1 -2 secs.
     
  9. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Never had this kind of trouble with Webshield

    MaB
     
  10. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    I know. Please read post 198, 200 and 202. I now have a 2 year license but uninstalled. Will reinstall soon. I tried the free version first. Sorry I have not changed my sig yet :) I do later some time :)
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    No surfing slow down at all. Using broadband, pages access as fast as I can blink. FF has always loaded in about 10 seconds on the initial boot no matter what FW I've used, Comodo included, while IE loads in about 3 seconds. IE is embedded in Windows so is partly loaded during boot up, hence 3 seconds. OA has no adverse effects on my browser speed at all. :)
     
  12. nmaynan

    nmaynan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    98
    I like Online Armor the best of every firewall I've tried. I've used the big names for months and tried a lot of others as well.

    One thing to keep in mind about OA is that it has HIPS and the Firewall. You can set OA to enable both HIPS and the Firewall or just one or the other. HIPS sometimes can mean a lot of prompts because of Program Guard and WebShield etc. (It locks down your system pretty tight though and OA's method is by far the best I've seen). But for those purists, OA allows the user to just install the simple ol' firewall and not be bothered with any of the other stuff. This ability is REALLY cool about Online Armor! (none of the big names give the user this ability).
     
  13. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    You can thank the members here for that feature. I remember muf in particular was insistent upon it :)
     
  14. pitzelberger

    pitzelberger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    56
    Better do not let Scot know about this. Else he might unveil another big security flaw in one of the big names . ;)
     
  15. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks Pitzelberger!
     
  16. nmaynan

    nmaynan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    98
    Thank You Muf!
     
  17. A.K.

    A.K. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    I just currently installed online armor free firewall and got rid of comodo 3 .It was freezing up my computer and too many annoying pop ups, I have not had this problem with Online armor, it seems to run smoothly without the headache of all the pop ups, I think it is a keeper. The free version doesn't have the web shield enabled among other things, so I installed avast free edition which has a web shield. I heard Comodo was a good firewall, so I am not knocking it, but it did not work well on my system.
    I'm not an expert on security even though I read somewhat to learn about it. I'd also installed other firewalls which I had problems with , used too many resources or froze up my computer alot. I think online armor passed all firewall leak tests, and got higher markings than comodo, something to look into.
     
  18. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Comodo 3.0 hasn't been tested by Matousec. Only 2.4 has. Comodo takes a bit to get use to to but give it a week and D+ calms down. OA free is good but limited.
     
  19. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    A.K. Good choice. OA is a pleasure to use. CFP is OK for the guys who like to create their own rules and don't mind navigating the GUI. I like to set it and forget it.:)
     
  20. Joan Archer

    Joan Archer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire, South Wales, UK
    Well I got rid of Zone Alarm Pro and bought Online Armor at the beginning of this month and must say I'm very pleased with the purchase.
    It gives me a lot more information than ZA ever did and in an understandable way so I actually know now what I'm blocking or allowing :thumb:
    I've just got the new version this afternoon and so far so good, well done to the Tallemu lads and lasses :-*
    Joan
     
  21. Shelty

    Shelty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    I've been very happy with Online Armor since I've been using it about three months.

    One thing I'm not crazy about is that I do set updates to manual but it still seems to connect out all the time. I would prefer it to connect at a time when it's convenient for me.
     
  22. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Go to the Options-General tab in OA. If the box is checked to send anonymous info to... then OA will call out. If you don`t want to share that info uncheck the box.
     
  23. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    My Auto updates are done when I log on, and I'm not even aware of it unless I click on the GUI and check. Upgrades are just as silent, with the exception that a dialog box pops up telling me an upgrade to a new version has occurred. I think that is great. I've never had an app do an upgrade without doing a clean uninstall, followed by a new install. This is why I don't understand you're concern, as it's done without you're intervention. :)
     
  24. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    As posted earlier I had some problems when first starting to use OA. But not anymore. MikeNash and OA staff has done great job. Thank you so much. Problems resolved. I reinstalled I think more than a week ago. No problem with OA service. No boot slowdown. And as I said earlier I have no slowdown with webguard on.

    In my setup OA is a keeper :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  25. hammerman

    hammerman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Posts:
    283
    Location:
    UK
    Are you running OA successfully alongside EQS? Do you uses the HIP's in OA and which protection modules do you use in EQS?

    Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.