Your opinion of Online Armor Personal Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ratchet, Nov 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I use FF and its download manager. Your CFP isn't sitting in FF download, the .exe file went to probably "My Downloads" in My documents. However, you can click "open" in the downlaod manager and the installation will begin.
    To answer your question, OA works great with FF. I am now using both.:)
     
  2. pettyracing

    pettyracing Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Posts:
    37
    Has anyone had a problem when opening either windows explorer or the recycle bin?

    I saw a few comments related to this on the oa forum, but none mentioned here. I am running nod32 ver 2 and I cannot get into my windows explorer or recycle bin with a "need to close" message.

    I uninstalled oa (free version btw) and everything is back to normal. I have comodo v2 and kis7 on other machines and this has never been an issue.

    From what I've read, this windows explorer issue comes and goes with different versions. Seems to be fixed in one version, while reappearing in another. I'm on XP SP2 no a/s, etc..

    I don't know why a firewall would be interfering with windows explorer, but it is.
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I'm using v2.1.0.31 and have no problem with windows explorer or the recycle bin. I'm using XP sp2 and NOD32 v2.7 also.:)
     
  4. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    belive me using SP2 firewall and shadow defnder is more than a home user need lol

    cheers:-*
     
  5. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I see from your posts you like the the software you use. No problem to me, but please post this to appropriate forum.

    .
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    One off topic post removed.

    Pete
     
  7. TouchuvGrey

    TouchuvGrey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    Gold Coast Queensland Australia
    i have 6 computers in the house, OA is on all
    except the Vista, and the linux machines.
    I've watched OA grow from a very good
    application to the best SecuritySuite available.

    Every time i think it can't get any better
    Mike comes up with an improvement.

    YEEEEE HAWWWW !!!!! :)
     
  8. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Why the hell cant you change the GUI size. I have never known any program where you cannot change the size of the main program window. Very annoying.
     
  9. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    This is actually fixed in the next version :) Finally :)
     
  10. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    490
    I have been trying Online Armor Free for a day now & I can say that this is the best HIPS & a very fine firewall. I suspect that when my subscription to NOD32 is up that I will install the Online Armor full version with the AV . Being a free program it has some limitations but basically even when I had firewalls that allowed you to adjust about anything I used only the basic functions. So far I have found no problems in the current version of Free. I am impressed.
     
  11. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Unfortunately this is what I keep hearing. Next version this and that will be fixed. I tried Comodo and Online Armor and both made me stick with ZAAS.
     
  12. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    If I were you I would keep NOD32. It has been voted the best av around and your also better off with stand alone programs.
     
  13. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Surely that's only a problem if things don't get fixed or changed?

    I like to think that we're pretty responsive in changing things that annoy OA users and adding new features that they request.

    The version with resizeable GUI is in beta right now.
     
  14. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    No not the only problem. It locks up most of my gaming even in learn mode. ZAAS asks me once and thats it. ZAAS also will exit out of a game automaticlly so I can click "allow" or "deny". With OA I have to wait till the game is locked up and then ctrl-alt-del out of the game or even sometimes shut my psu off so I can reboot. I cannot add a game exe file unless I know the ports. With ZAAS or just ZA I can go into my program setting and find whatever exe I want to add to it then check off the appropriated permissions.
     
  15. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I don't think you've been a Zaas user too long. I have used all three fw's and doing a clean uninstall of Zaas to install Comodo 2 was like breathing fresh air. I am now using OA because of the CFPv3 complexities and think it's great. Not that CFP isn't a great FW, I'm just not knowledgeable enough to enjoy it. I am looking forward to the next OA version due in a few weeks, and I'm confident that all the issues Mike says will be fixed, will be fixed.:)
     
  16. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Been using ZAAS for awhile now. I have no problems uninstalling it. Just use Revo Uninstaller. I guess I will try OA again if all the problems are fixed and my games dont crash. I have around 200 apps to learn.
     
  17. webster

    webster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Denmark
    Mike and his team just did it with OA2. THE best security suite, with THE best support :cool:
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Do feel free to continue with ZAAS. Glad it is working for you.
     
  19. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    @Mike Nash

    When will the issue with OA Free assuming that the local network is trusted be resolved? I read somewhere a button would be put in to turn this behavior off. At the moment it seems the only alternative is to move the netbios rules below the stop all rule. I use a notebook on all sorts of untrusted networks and would find something like that to be very helpful.

    You definitely put an impressive amount of effort into supporting OA.
     
  20. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Diver,

    Thanks for the kind words :) I think the support comes with the territory for a program aimed at everyday users.

    This is already resolved in the beta version, which I hope will be released in the next couple of weeks.

    What has been implemented is the detection of interfaces, and the marking of that interface as trusted or not trusted.

    In addition, OA now detects other computers on the network. The trust status of an interface can be overridden at the computer level.

    For example, one user MCHAL had internet in his appartment block. So, this is untrusted interface. But, with the changes in the upcoming release he could override the status of selected computers (his second PC, a friend in the building) to trusted.

    The reverse is also true - you can mark a network as trusted , but distrust certain machines.

    Hope this helps


    Mike
     
  21. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Mike,

    I will just have to try it, but it sounds like the flexibility is there. The trusted terminology is great. Don't trust nobody.

    -Ron

    edit:

    OK, its running now and I see the interface thing. As you describe it, it will do what I need and more. Scanning the start menu really cuts down on training grief. I am just guessing, but it seems the program logic is to allow any trusted program to start any other trusted program, rather than checking for every new combination, again cutting down on training interruptions. I don't think there is another firewall with comprehensive outbound checking that is anywhere near this easy to use.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2008
  22. phillip559

    phillip559 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    I havn't used a whole lot of different firewalls but compared the the XP firewall it kills my internet speed really bad.

    It seems like a very good program though as it uses very few system resources and functions as a program/process monitor.
     
  23. ahriman

    ahriman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Posts:
    126
    I'm currently running the trial of OA and really like it--I'll be buying this for my XP Pro x86 system! Does a Vista x64 version happen to be in the offing?
     
  24. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,656
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'd suggest you take the latest beta, which solves the internet speed issue :) Or, just wait a couple of weeks for the full release
     
  25. pitzelberger

    pitzelberger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    56
    My opinion on the free version of OA:

    I was using OA free for a while now, and I think it is a really great software. However, finally I switched back to Comodo 3.
    The reason why I did so is the disabled "install mode" in the free version of OA. I can live with all the other features that have been disabled in the free version, but I think any HIPS need an install mode. Else you end up clicking trough countless popups each time you install a new software, and that's exactly what leads to commonly observed "lazy clicking" effect (just clicking "OK) --- in my opinion the only true leak of a HIPS.

    If my interest in a HIPS would be for professional reasons, I would consider buying OA, but for my private PC I can go well with Commod, that has all this features for free.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.