Your main browser

Discussion in 'polls' started by JayK, Feb 29, 2004.

?

What is your favourite internet browser?

  1. Microsoft Internet Explorer

    32 vote(s)
    27.8%
  2. A IE shell (eg Myie2, Avant,greenbrowser,netcaptor)

    8 vote(s)
    7.0%
  3. Opera

    23 vote(s)
    20.0%
  4. Phonex/Firebird/Firefox

    39 vote(s)
    33.9%
  5. Mozilla suite (Seamonkey) include Netscape 7+

    11 vote(s)
    9.6%
  6. Safari

    1 vote(s)
    0.9%
  7. Camino, K-melon or other Gecko browser

    1 vote(s)
    0.9%
  8. Others (Lynx,konqueror,Netscape 6 and below)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vince

    Vince Guest

    1. IE Windows at home predominatly
    2. Slimbrowser Windows at home transitioning to
    3. Netscape Windows and Solairs in office
    4. Opera Windows at home to keep in touch
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,201
    Location:
    New England
    Every time I've spot checked the access logs here, and on my own download site, the proportion of IE users is about 82-83%, (mostly using IE6 though a few percent are on IE 5.X).
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,908
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    82-83% is a pretty large chunk of the users here. :eek:
     
  4. peakaboo

    peakaboo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Posts:
    377
    did you adjust for the IE spoofers? :cool:
     
  5. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,201
    Location:
    New England
    Of course there's a margin for error in those numbers, but it is not so surprising when you think about it.

    A lot of you are thinking about the "regulars" here - those who post a lot - probably using other browsers, but remember a lot of people come in and go out for things like Javacool downloads and information, HijackThis log reviews, etc. Also, people pass through from a hit on a big search engine, and perhaps never post anything and don't stay long.

    I'd be surprised if the error ratio is all that big, but I'm sure there is some.
     
  6. peakaboo

    peakaboo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Posts:
    377
    1) with 10k+ members I don't know what percent of traffic is just passing thru.

    2) easy poll - How many spoof as a different Browser and or O/S
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,908
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I confess I spoof my browser as IE6 :cool:
     
  8. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    Well until 3 days ago, I was on IE6. Now I've got Firefox. Hey peakaboo, could tell me how to spoof my OS and browser? Win98SE-Firefox. I have no idea how. Thanks.
     
  9. peakaboo

    peakaboo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Posts:
    377
    Get proxomitron. Use the header filter for User-Agent (out) and customize how u want to appear. Also may want to check the web page filter to hide browser version from Js...

    Or just get Opera, hit f12 and click how your browser appears (Opera doesn't spoof the O/S yet) ;)
     
  10. JayK

    JayK Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    619
    Not necessary for firefox. You can do it withput an extension but easiest is probably to use the user agent switcher extension,

    http://chrispederick.myacen.com/work/firebird/useragentswitcher/
     
  11. JayK

    JayK Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    619
    Interesting this is the first time, I've seen an admin comment directly about usage of browsers on wilders. I hinted about it before, but Paul declined to answer , hence this poll.

    I agree with your points , the error probably isn't too large even with spoofing by default Opera is spoofed as IE).

    At any rate 82-83% is slightly low for IE, most sites would register at least 90-95%. . As mentioned before this being a security site helps explains this.
     
  12. peakaboo

    peakaboo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Posts:
    377
    Not that its a big deal but curious if the firefox extension you referenced:

    1) works against https sites:

    https://testzone.secunia.com/browser_checker

    and

    2) does it effectively hide Browser's Version from JS
     
  13. Prince_Serendip

    Prince_Serendip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Posts:
    819
    Location:
    Canada
    :D Opera Rocks! :D
     
  14. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    OK Peakaboo. I got Proxo 4.5 (May version, couldn't find the final). I think I got it configured correctly to FF.. As soon as I opened Firefox, ZA ask me if I wanted to allow Proxo to access to the internet. Then I did the a² online check and got this----
    Starting a² Online-Check for IP ***.***.***.*** on 3/4/2004 1:34:04 AM (IP showed correctly here).

    Security-Test:
    Public available information about your PC resp. your network are collected.

    Your IP address: ***.***.***.*** (The IP showed correctly, but I'm not worried about that.)

    This is what I got with the public information test.

    Server Error in '/' Application.
    Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

    Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

    Source Error:

    Line 83: <body onFocus="scrolling = false" onBlur="scrolling = true" onMouseOver="scrolling = false"
    Line 84: onMouseOut="scrolling = true" bgcolor="white">
    Line 85: <%StartScan();%>
    Line 86: <input type="button" onclick="print()" value="Print Report">
    Line 87: <input type="button" onclick="document.execCommand('SaveAs');" value="Save Report">


    Source File: c:\inetpub\wwwroot\en\scan.aspx Line: 85

    Stack Trace:

    [NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.]
    a2oc.publicinfos.GetOS(String Agent) in Z:\Inetpub\wwwroot\publicinfos.cs:25
    a2oc.en.scan.StartScan() in Z:\Inetpub\wwwroot\en\scan.aspx.cs:114
    ASP.scan_aspx.__Render__control1(HtmlTextWriter __output, Control parameterContainer) in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\en\scan.aspx:85
    System.Web.UI.Control.RenderChildren(HtmlTextWriter writer) +27
    System.Web.UI.Control.Render(HtmlTextWriter writer) +7
    System.Web.UI.Control.RenderControl(HtmlTextWriter writer) +243
    System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain() +1929
    This was with AOL/FF. I ran this 2 times and came up with the same result.

    I did the checks on AOL/IE browser also. It displayed all O/S and browser info correctly--BAH.

    So I guess I've got the O/S and browser spoofing sucessfully done and I've got you to thank for it. A cookie for all your help.
    If you see anything that doesn't look right, please let me know.

    EDIT: After all this I just happened to fine the June (final) version. Which is better?
     
  15. peakaboo

    peakaboo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Posts:
    377
    Hi beetlejuice,

    I would use the June version of 4.5. If you decide to use an annonymous proxy with proxomitron, and the proxy fails 4.5 will not revert to connect direct or something like that - in other words if your proxy stops working so do you. The May version let's you keep going but probably does not warn you that your proxy has failed.

    Anyway I just ran a² online check and this is what I got:

    BTW: I had the proxo log window up and this test was using the Js Browser version pull trick

    If you need help with proxo there are a few good boards around still.

    Portscan:
    You computer is scanned for open ports now.

    Of the 100 ports tested all were closed.

    Your operating system: Windows XP <= wrong
    Your browser: Firefox <= wrong

    You did run the Online-Check 0 times before. <= wrong

    Exploit-Test:
    Your browser will be checked for installed ActiveX components of Dialers, etc. now.

    This test can only be completed with VBScript activated.

    Browser-Check:
    Your browser configuration will be checked for risks now.

    Visual Basic Script (VBScript) Test: VBScript is not activated

    etc.
    [hr]

    still munchin on dat cookie - Thanks :D
     
  16. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    peakaboo, you've been such a big help, well have another cookie. :D
     
  17. JayK

    JayK Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    619

    Yes

    2) does it effectively hide Browser's Version from JS


    Yes. (In most cases, anyway)
     
  18. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,535
    I prefer the Gecko Engine, but MyIE2 give me a lot of options, plugins and much more...
     
  19. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Well I have to confess - I'm using an IE Shell (NetCaptor). I really like it, though (especially the tabbed windows). But knowing that IE is like Swiss Cheese when it comes to security, I assume IE Shells are just as vunerable. And that makes bothers me since I take pride in my security portfolio. I'm getting a new and faster PC soon. At that time I think I'm going to play the field for a while.
     
  20. hokhost

    hokhost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    France, Paris
    I would go for Opera too if the mail client could:
    - download my mails
    - and still let them on the mail server until I delete them from the M2 interface.

    I tried Opera 7.23 a while back and that couldn't be done, whereas Thunderbird can.
    I then use Firefox + Thunderbird.
     
  21. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    me? Why Firefox of course!! :ninja:
     
  22. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    For the past 9 months - Firefox.

    ;)
     
  23. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,690
    Location:
    Hawaii
    My default/main browser is K-meleon. It runs on the Gecko engine, but not via xml, so it's a hair faster than Firefox. It doesn't have the memory leak that continues to plague Firefox & Mozilla. It is much more tweakable, but runs just fine out of the box, too.

    Instead of tabs, K-mel uses "layers" which perform the same functions as tabs, but also lay eggs.

    My back-up browser is Beonex, another gecko clone.

    If I am forced to use IE {as when updating WIN-ME} I use Avant, an IE clone.

    paz.........bellgamin
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    *In the words of Garbo: "Avant to be alone."
    **How many legs does a 3-legged dog have if you call its tail a leg?
     
  24. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,908
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I use opera and thunderbird
     
  25. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    I could've sworn that I replied to this one when it was first opened, but it appears not. Oh, well ... I'm using IE6.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.