Yet Another TI 10 Install Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Hoopster, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hoopster

    Hoopster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    These TI 10 installation issues are obviously far too common if this forum is any indication. TI 10 is the only Windows application with which I have ever experienced this problem.

    I am getting the infamous "installation interrupted...restart" error when attempting to install TI 10 (licensed) on a new Win XP SP2 machine.

    I have tried every possible solution posted in this forum such as:

    1 - delete all temp files in C:\documents and settings\{username}...\temp
    2 - delete Acronis/TI directories and files from C:\Program Files\Common Files (there were none)
    3 - extract the .msi from the .exe by right clicking and extracting - the same problem occurs when installing with either file
    4 - run the Windows Install Clean-Up utility (no Acronis entries were present)
    5 - pull out my hair, curse and howl at the moon

    The problem persists.

    Any other suggestion other than buying a different backup solution?
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2007
  2. Hoopster

    Hoopster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Great! After spending more time in this forum, I now discover that TI 10 *does not* support my motherboard chipset (Asus P5B Deluxe with Intel 965 Express). Does that prevent installation and backup as well or does it just effect Windows-based restore? From what I read I gather the BartPE restore can be used, but, not a Windows-based restore with this chipset.
     
  3. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    BartPE will give you a windows based restore and it will be a much better choice IMHO. Mustang has written Begginer's Guide to Creating a BartPE CD.
    He has also supplied plugins for use with BartPE which are superior to the one included with TI Mustang's BartPE Plugins.
     
  4. Hoopster

    Hoopster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks for the links to Mustang's BartPE plugin and instructions. I'll certainly give it a try as it appears to be a good solution; however, first things first. I have yet to get TI 10 installed and have not been able to find a work around for this problem. It simple refuses to install on my Core 2 Duo/Asus P5B Deluxe.
     
  5. Hoopster

    Hoopster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Well, I finally got TI 10 Home to install on my system. After spending a lot more time reading through this forum, I discovered one "cure" I had not tried. If I chose to install TI 10 for all users and not just the current user, it installed properly. I did not really want it installed for all users, but, I guess that is a small price to pay to get it installed. Now I guess I can play with the BartPE boot disk solution while Acronis decides when they are going to support my motherboard chipset :(
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Hoopster,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please download and install the latest build (4940) of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.