Yesterday evening, I refused SP3 ...

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by PROROOTECT, Aug 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    To be far-sighted ... Yesterday evening (2008/08/29), I refused SP3 ... Happily for the speed of my Windows XP ...
    Slowly with M$ ...
    Save ...
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2008
  2. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    I've intalled sp3 on one box, with no problems and no noticeable difference in any regard.
     
  3. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2008
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Nothing stopping one from imaging the system prior to doing it, is there?
     
  5. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    What compelled you to ask that? Of course not.

    S
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Just the way you stated there was no means of backing up.
     
  7. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Hello,

    Free gift of Bill - I did not ask ; that he forgive me this time ...

    Because my Windows XP SP 2 work very well !

    NEXT TEE : 7 .

    Windows 7 .

    For this one : thank you in advance, :thumb:Bill ...

    He remembers me ...:-*

    http://news.cnet.com/8301-13554_3-9999378-33.html

    " So I'm not crazy ... ha ! "

    Thanks, PROROOTECT
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2008
  8. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Same here, i don't intend to even try SP3 for the simple reason, from past experiences, just when i get everything fine tuned and running smooth, microsoft suddenly releases something like this, and like is been suggested, if something goes haywire, all your efforts over all those months is down the tubes.

    Yes, imaging before trying it is the only reasonable safe approach, but as all my security and video players plus customizations apps are finally finely tuned, i don't dare upset this balance and myself.

    I'll spare myself that frustration by ignoring it. SP2 is just fine and dandy and thats as far as i go with anymore patchwork from M$.

    Lessons from the past.

    EASTER
     
  9. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    OK 100% , EASTER !

    So I'm not crazy ?... Bill ?...:p
     
  10. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I too was hesitant about SP3, but it's been on for weeks now and I've no trouble whatsoever. As far as MS doing this again, I'm fairly confident this is the last service pack XP ever sees. Eventually MS will end up saying "alright, enough is enough, stop selling/giving downgrade options for XP PERIOD and put Vista out", IMHO. But back on topic, eventually MS updates, and probably even some other software vendors will require SP3, so, you might as well just do it. I've heard of very few programs (now) having issues with SP3, so video players, security settings, programs, are not likely to change enough to be a problem, if they change at all. Again that is my opinion, but I'm pretty confident of it for the majority of user situations.
     
  11. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Yep like the OP at first I was holding back doing the update. I watched read the forums, and held on sp2.

    Then after a decent waiting period I decided to do the update. But as Pete said earlier in the thread the key is to have a clean c image backup with your tweaked xp2 on it. So I did the c backup, tested that it worked using the bootable cd restore from Paragon (always a hold your breath restore!)
    (I'm not trying to start a X vs Paragon posting war here it just happens I use that product)


    Then I updated to sp3, rebooted and all came up fine. For me no improvement in service but I didn't expect any, very low expectations I suppose. But I want the latest version of my os thank you very much, and I know that some disagree with this but I want the latest security fixes Bill's boys put in.

    Then I promptly disabled the 2 admin services for auto updating MS and everybody here should do the same IMHO. Why send packets to MS every day asking for news that only comes 1/month at best?

    That's my plan and I can't take any credit for it I learned if here on WSF from my betters:cool:
     
  12. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    I was one of the first to update to SP3.

    It has been completely harmless.

    By and large SP3 is only a compilation of all updates and fixes.

    You are no more likely to suffer bad effects from SP3 than from ordinary updates.

    To discuss this hoary old topic,which has been discussed to death, once more is uneccessary.

    edit-the troublefree way to update SP3 is from a disk-either from MS or burned with an MS ISO using nLite
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2008
  13. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    If you are going to run an OS that you did not write yourself you are probably better off with the updates the author provides.
     
  14. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I've put it on three machines at home. I'm no expert and didn't feel comfortable about doing it. But I was concerned that I might be blocked from future updates buy not accepting SP3. What if certain future updates required it?

    I made an executive decision to accept the update. (I did image each machine first:D )

    Update went flawlessly and there was no perceptable change (good or bad) in performance on any of the machines.

    So I exhaled and went on with my life.:cautious:
     
  15. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Len:

    Glad you are breathing again! On this your expereince mirrors mine 100%!:cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.