Yellow Warning Banner TI11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by The Sand, Feb 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I have run multiple backups to get rid of this yellow warning banner that says I have NO backups. It wants me to "schedule" one which I have never done in the past. Just to get rid of it I did create a scheduled "task." Then I ran the "task" (a full backup) and still the yellow warning banner. I don't like "warning" banners...

    Also, TI10 had a "Source File Exclusion" of
    *.bak
    *.~
    *.tmp

    Those were just "there" in TI10 so I left them. I noticed they were NOT there in TI11 (it was also in a different place.) I don't even know what those are - but should I manually enter in that information in TI11?

    Thanks,
    Sandy
     
  2. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    In addition... 11 only showed me the "Current Operation Progress" line. The bottom of that screen where it says "Total Progress" was always blank. I had NO countdown... no status of "time remaining" - it was all blank - I just waited and hoped everything was fine. Everything seemed fine - the backup verified okay but still that is weird. That was on my XP - which had 10 on it and everything rolled fine with 10.

    Sandy
     
  3. Ray Clare

    Ray Clare Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    Just ignore the banner. It won't go away till you run a scheduled backup. I's a known, but fairly unimportant bug.

    Have fun.
     
  4. Ray Clare

    Ray Clare Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    Erratic counter reports are anonther such bug. Everything works just fine, you just can't depend on the counter always working.
     
  5. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Hi Ray, thanks for the info.

    I did "search" the banner problem but the info was somewhat old - I thought they might have a "fix" for it by now...

    I did create a task and then ran the task... obviously that wasn't good enough. I prefer to do that "manually" which the "task manager" gave you the option to do... but that did not "correct" the banner. Do I literally need to "schedule" a task and have my computer run it (i.e. not manually) for this to right itself. I have never done that - but it beats lookin' at this stupid banner. I guess I'll try that...

    Thanks again for the feedback... on both points :)

    Thanks,
    Sandy
     
  6. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I ran a "scheduled" back up and it's still there... So I'll live with it. That and the counter remains thing are minor annoyances but really, I'm a little put off here - I thought buying the 11 was the right thing to do for a new computer - in the end I may put 10 (with no issues whatsoever - minor or otherwise) on the new computer and leave 11 on my old one. Weird...

    Sandy
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    It can take up to a week of scheduled tasks, before the banner behaves itself again.

    If you want to be certain all is as it should be from an imaging point of view, I'd suggest enabling the email option, - it'll send you an email telling you it started and another that it finished.

    Colin
     
  8. Ray Clare

    Ray Clare Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    I wish you good sailing whatever you do, but simply because 10 gave no problems doesn't guanrantee the same on new hardware. It comes to drivers. Most of the folks here seem to be doing fine with 10, so it may work for you, too. I run 11 on Vista with no problems on a machine I bought six months ago, and I ran V8 for years on a Win98SE machine. I don't have any complaints.

    I have NEVER bought a piece of software that didn't have some bugs or need some kind of workaround. It's just part of the scene, as I see it.

    Few of us will ever buy anything else anywhere near as complex as the PC and software it runs. I'm sure they will iron out these bugs in time, but there seem to be many more pressing issues for V11 right now.

    Have a good day!
     
  9. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Well that is a scary line... what "pressing issues"? I am going to run a restore right now with 11 to make sure everything is good. Then I can make my final decision about what goes on the new computer.

    As for sheduling tasks for a week so the banner rights itself... I don't schedule tasks - never have. I don't want to be "forced" into something like that over a "banner." So I'll live with the banner. I understand bugs - that is why I didn't buy 11 right away. I thought they would have things smoothed out by now (because this is the 1st build after the release)... but heck, I thought Vista would be rolling better by now too and it isn't. AOL took me out last week over a mandatory security update. Sometimes I feel my computers are running me not the other way around and I don't like it...

    Thanks for all the input here - it really does help...

    Have a great weekend... hopefully my 11 restore will work and I can too!

    Sandy
     
  10. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    The 11 restore went fine. So, both 10 and 11 in regard to Vista (for me anyway) worked fine. Just want to pass that along - sometimes the only things posted on forums are "problems" for obvious reasons. I'm still not sure which version to put on the new computer coming. I don't want to have to do a "Vista repair" as most had to with 10 - but it sounds like (from reading the fourm here) that 11 isn't "ready" yet.

    In regard to Vista - it may have "issues" but it certainly beats the heck out of a Mac. I owned a Mac for 4 days last week. It cost me $139 just to return it. And I was glad to pay it and be rid of it. You too can spend $1,700 and get one USB port, NO memory card reader, No blackberry desktop software, No photoshop elements, No Google Toolbar, the internet displaying on half the screen, a stupid mail program... the list goes on and on. It's so "minimalistic" you wonder what you paid for - okay, I paid for the display and the speed. Boy it was beautiful and fast... but that was ALL it was. You know when you buy an expensive car - like a BMW - you don't think to ask the sales rep if the car has air conditioning, you figure it DOES. Not so with the Mac... you must "ask" or you pay $139 to return it.

    I am waiting now for my new Dell - I hope it is a beautiful and fast as the Mac... and I will have Vista which allows me all the software ("toys") I like to play with. Also, when I "right click" it says "properties" like it should... If I right click and there is no "properties" (like Mac) then as Donald Trump says, "You're fired."

    Okay.. just me rambling - but I thought I'd pass this stuff along... it may help somebody "lurking" around.

    Sandy
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.