Yahoo Toolbar - Anti-Spy

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sweater, Mar 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    What can you say on this Yahoo product? and also on their Anti-Spy? :rolleyes: o_O

    Is it really worth downloading and installing it on our pc's? :cautious: o_O
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,696
    Hello,
    Personally, I'm against softwares from companies that deal in marketing / advertising. I would rather not install stuff from yahoo, google, msn and so forth.
    Mrk
     
  3. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I download and installed their Toolbar in my firefox browser last night and it works fine for several minutes. But after I tried to configure some of its settings my firefox browser freeze up...:gack: o_O and I have no way to go but to reset my pc. Then, tried it again, but still it hangs. It looks like this toolbar is not really compatible w my firefox...:oops: I don't know maybe it's heavy. One thing also was that the anti-spy feature they said about was actually another set of download w/c is 2.3MB installer, and not really a toolbar bundles...:p

    Huhummn....:isay: :cautious: so...I just removed it from my firefox browser, and from now on I will never go back using any toolbar on my firefox that was not really "related" to my surfing habits...:shifty: :D
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Wise decision !!!
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    BTW, I have used Yahoo toolbar both on Firefox and IE since long with no problems at all( although not using now on my new PC). I don,t know why your firefox freezed. I liked its antispy, I heard it uses PestPatrol engine but can,t say anything on its performance although it is very fast in snanning.

    I like multiple toolbars esp google is my favourite, makes search easy, and u can search within sites, can fill forms, g-mail access is easy as well, and u can translate webpage although not always. However it,s Page Rank function is useless, so I disabled it, I felt it just gives Visit Rankng of sites rather than any Trust Ranking. So, Ranknig was good even on Kazza sites!!!

    See my firefox.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    My IE toolbars.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.