XP3 and TI 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dougaross, Aug 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dougaross

    dougaross Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Posts:
    59
    I am running xp pro sp2 and TI 11. I am considering updating to sp3 even though sp2 is working just fine.Is this a good idea? I don't want to create a bunch problems in a well operating system.
     
  2. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    I doubt there has ever been an update or service pack that someone somewhere hasn't accused of causing mayhem, but SP3 seems generally to have been well received.

    Wait for it ........... :rolleyes:
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    All you need do is make a full image of your OS partition or complete disk and then install SP3.
    It gave me no problems at all but it was nice to have a backup "Just in case".

    Xpilot
     
  4. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183

    I updated to SP 3 & didn't have any problems.:cool: :cool:
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The above is my main use of TI by far. Still awaiting the day one of my HDs croaks so I can do a real disaster recovery! Probably shouldn't have said that. :D
     
  6. laserfan

    laserfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    If it's not broke, why do you want to fix it?

    I updated my P4 that started life pre-SP1 and has had numerous patches and problems and failures and cleanup work done to it (never reloaded the OS from scratch) and so recently I updated to SP3 to make sure I had all the latest stuff. It worked, though I do have a nagging problem of my monitor no longer shutting-down after X minutes. Apparently I need an updated video driver, I dunno, I haven't fixed it yet.

    Do so at some risk, and make sure you're backed-up before you do.
     
  7. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    SP3 has several improvements and fixes that make it a worthwhile upgrade. To plan for the rare event that you might have a problem with SP3, do a full backup image first. That way you can always "roll back" if needed.

    I've used ATI 11 on XP SP3 with no problems.
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Most of SP3 is in updates you already have if you have been doing regular Win updates. However, a few fixes and security widgets are in SP3. It's the cleanest of all the Win SPs. I woulnd't anitcipate problems, but I would make a backup 1st, just to be safe.

    I'd recommend doing the update to sp3.
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Considering that they are primarily security updates you won't know it is broke until it is too late.
     
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    No problem me too with SP3 and TIA 11.
     
  11. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    $MS 'wants' to support WinXP until 2014 with the 'extended support'.

    You can be sure that $MS-patches based on SP3 in the future.
    Without SP3 no patches furthermore.

    My suggestion: Change to SP3 as fast as you can. Create an image before this upgrade and you are on a secure side.
     
  12. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I am running SP3 on my machines with no problems and given that it has now been out a while I think it is likely pretty safe to install it.

    Other option is to download the full SP3 package and save it away so you can install it at anytime even in the unlikely event it gets pulled from the MS site.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.