XP will not boot with NOD32 V4

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Kirre, Aug 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kirre

    Kirre Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    My computer will not boot windows XP with NOD32 V4 installed!

    This accures after I have replaced a faulty motherboard and reinstalled windows XP.
    Have installed all the latest drivers and windows updates.
    Downloaded the latest NOD32 and installed.
    My computer will not boot though safe mode works.

    I guess its a similar problem as in threads:
    PC hangs at login, and NOD32 V4 hangs on boot.
    I have tried disabling automatic startup of the real-time protection module but with no luck.

    How can I download a previous version of NOD32 and use it for the time being?

    Help and info would be very much appreciated!
    Kirre

    Windows XP with SP3 and all updates
    ASUS P5Q Delux with E8500 CPU
     
  2. EasternOkie

    EasternOkie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Posts:
    50
  3. Kirre

    Kirre Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks EasternOkie for your reply!

    I have tested to turn Self defense and realtime protection off but still not able to boot XP.

    Looking through all posts you pointed to I see that you have had this problem for several months!
    Perhaps there is something with the ASUS P5 motherboards?

    I was using Node32 V4 without any problems for just a few days on my old MSI K8N motherboard before it died.

    ... Kirre
     
  4. Traduk

    Traduk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    The Asus motherboard correlation is a coincidence and meaningless. I had exactly the same failure to boot on XPSP3 on a machine using an A-bit IS7 motherboard. If it freezes due to a video (or some other) driver then after months the Eset people should have found and fixed the problem.

    I did not even try Version 4 on my Asus Rampage Extreme motherboard and having read threads going back months for a fault that has never been fixed its 2.7 for me or something else.

    My machine locked during the boot sequence as the scroll bar displays prior to the welcome display. Before failure it worked for a few minutes and during that time displayed the behaviour that caused me to revert from version 3. It appears to use "sandbox" techniques to check every file or web page that opens and delays opening anything whilst it carries out that procedure. Version 2.7 is a very light non performance impacting software which was the main reason why I chose and have used it for several years.

    I will not use something that impacts so badly on performance but that is a mute point as V4 has a fault that renders the machine as unusable.
     
  5. Kirre

    Kirre Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Ok Traduk

    I have used Node32 for some years now and it's done its job OK.

    V4 did work on my MSI motherboard that I have replaced. Seeing that others with ASUS bords also had the same problem I assumed there could be some connection, but as you point out its not only Asus boards. Could perhaps be similar chipsets or chipset drivers?

    I have sent an e-mail to Esnet asking for the possibility to download an old version
    to use for the time being , but no reply yet ...

    I hope Esnet/Eurosecure finds a cure and that they at least acknowledge the problem/bug

    Kirre
     
  6. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello Kirre,

    You can download version 3 or even version 2.7 from the website. They can be found under the section labeled Home PC Users (Previous releases: 3.0, 2.7).

    How were you able to disable self defense and real-time protection if the machine will not boot?
     
  7. Kirre

    Kirre Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks WayneP for pointing me to the eset international webpage!
    I was looking at the local Swedish page and there the old files are not offered.
    I have now installed V3 and it seems to be OK!

    I can install EAV 4 without any problem and then alter the settings but if I restart the computer windows will not boot the screen just shows the start up screen with the running dotts.

    Again TNX for pointing me to eset's international site!

    Kirre
     
  8. Kirre

    Kirre Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Now installing V4 works!
    Strange!

    After having installed Nod32 V3 and windows office and some other applications, I needed to increase the size of the partion used for my C drive.

    After having increased the partion size I then tried again to install V4 (first uninstalling V3) and now I have no problems to boot XP!

    Perhaps increasing the partion from 15 to 30 GB for the c drive changed something or installing the office package with it's updates replaced/upgraded some system file who knows?

    Happy but confused!
    Kirre
     
  9. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    It could be the amount of hard drive space that was causing an issue. It could have also been resolved by the Office installation. Did you have all the latest Windows Updates? Installers usually install other things that they need such as .NET framework or something similar.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.