XP OS: MXDisk.sys Error Bluescreen?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mercurie, Jan 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mercurie

mercurie A Friendly Creature

Fellow Creatures,
    Last night just before I turned in, my Compaq Presario OutPost Pro asked if I wanted to allow Java to get update, now few weeks back my Emachine got the same message. Loaded and installed just fine no problems. Active X plugins I think.

But last night loaded and clicked install BOOM Blue screen instantly. Here is a portion of what it said: "MxDisk.sys page_fault_in nonpage_area" it gave addresses all kinds of code and said if first time restart if continued... BIOS... shadow something or other and Cach... It did tell me to uninstall problem hardware or software. Sorry I am not that technical plain english please. I rebooted same crap. Got to Safemode: then restore one day back, still nothing.. reboot again. This time I could get all the way to log in and then Blue screen after one second more code less way more zero's in it this time. Back to safemode, alright let me find this file... I think I know which it is. I think this is it delete. Empty Recycle. Reboot. Very slow reboot, got my system back. Question: what happened and should I do anything else. Oh by the way it still wanted to install something CANCEL :mad:

2. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

Sounds like a video driver problem. Can you update the video driver from the Compaq site or is there a knowledge base there?
    If that happened to me, that is where I would look first.

Have you looked or can you look in the event viewer for errors?

3. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

Do you happen to have ontracks system suite from VCOM on your comp. it is known to cause the problem. The mxdisk is the drivers for system suite for VCOM

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 11, 2005
  4. bigc73542