XP Image will not restore or verify

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by StephenDay, Oct 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. StephenDay

    StephenDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Hi

    I have imaged (using ATI 7) an XP partition and now it will not restore or verify. I have many images and all seen fine except this one. It is the biggest at 12 GB, made up of 20 files (split at 635 MB as other posts suggested). It is stored on a USB hard disk, as are the others.

    When I try to restore or verify, all starts off fine with estimates of towards an hour. But suddenly I check the status and the process has simply gone away. It leaves no info in the logging system.

    It will "explore" OK though.

    Any ideas on what's wrong ? Is it just corrupted ?
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Stephen

    A bit off topic but why split the image into 635MB chunks if you are storing the image on the USB HD? The 635MB file size is only required if you intend to subsequently burn the image to Standard CD (maximum capacity of 650MB) or ISO 9660 DVD (economical use of DVD capacity) using the two-step method detailed in the Acronis FAQ or User's Manual. Reason for the 635MB rather than 650MB is that 1MB in Acronis speak is 1024 kilobytes. Therefore 650MB will equate to 665600 kilobytes in Windows speak, which could cause a problem for some CDs/burners/software.

    Regards
     
  3. StephenDay

    StephenDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    The reason for the 635mb is so I can backup the image to DVDs. I've lost mirrored hard drives before which is why I don't trust any hard drive and just won't sleep easy unless I have at least 2 copies on different media - one of which is NOT magnetic !
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Aah, now it's clear! Agree entirely with your reasoning and I too keep a second backup on DVD (rewriteable).

    Regards
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello StephenDay,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    If you don't receive any message about how the check process ends there is no reason to believe that the image is corrupted. Please contact support@acronis.com regarding this problem.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.