XP hangs on boot after successful restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Yozza, Feb 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yozza

    Yozza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Hey guys, I have search through all the 80 odd pages here and there seems to be no answer to my question, can anyone help.

    I have ver 8.0 TI

    I am not running any Raid/external devices blah blah.

    A simple system with 1 hard drive. Split to C & D partitions. I have successfully created an image and now wish to restore the image (that is saved on D) (it was a full backup) restore on to C drive.

    This happened successfully. However now when I re-boot windows gets up to the light blue screen with the XP logo and windows logo and then hangs. It never gets any further (eg. to type in username etc)

    Apart from XP restore console where you type in FixMBR is there any other suggestions for this problem to get my op sys back in action.

    Cheers :'(
     
  2. svbalashov

    svbalashov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Hi!

    That's possible you've made some changes in you hardware configuration?

    I've encountered such problem but it was not a problem of Acronis True Image Server but a problem of Windows XP SP2. This problem is discribed by Microsoft - to resolve it you have to update your BIOS to latest version.

    Good luck!
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    1. Did you backup both the C and D partitions together to the D partition?

    2. When you did the restore, did you restore only the C partition image to the C partition space?
     
  4. Yozza

    Yozza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5

    *Yes I restored the saved image from D to C**

    I did this on a brand new install of windows xp pro SP1 with only acrobat reader installed no other programs or hardware?? Any thoughts?
     
  5. Yozza

    Yozza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5

    Hi thanks for your answer but I dont think its hardware causing the issue as I did not change anything, It was a fresh install of win xp pro sp1 apart from acrobat reader no other software or hardware installed. The image restored okay form the recovery environment, but when you re-boot it just hangs on the screen described above, not locked up just hangs as you can move the mouse. Cheers for any thoughts on this. Plus I am running desktop edition not server edition.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Well, Acronis tech support says that to guarantee a bootable system you should backup the entire hard drive (your C and D partitions) and then restore both partitions.

    In my experience, what you did normally works, but perhaps I've just been lucky.

    At this point, I would boot from the TrueImage recovery CD and repeat the restore just to see if a second attempt would work.
     
  7. Yozza

    Yozza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5

    Thanks John for your help, I have already tried a second attempt and the same thing happends. I did also read about backing up the whole drive, but this seems pointless to me for example if I have 5 partitions and I only want to back up 1 of the 5 why do I need to do the whole drive, its a waste of time and space especially if I want to save the image to 1 of the partitions?? Im just so grateful I did this test on a demo machine rather than my mirrored raid system :doubt:
     
  8. Codica

    Codica Guest

  9. I have the same trouble with Norton Ghost... I was looking at this product as an alternative. With Ghost I did cloned the entire drive, changed drives and got hung up in same place you did. Norton said to clean cache etc, didnt help.

    Did the USB thingwork for you? Did you ever get it to work?

    Just wondering if I should purchase this on top of what i have or if neitherwill work for me.

    Oh, one difference, I installed XP MCE 2005 with SP 2 included. Thought it might be a problem with that OS in particular.
    If anyone has help advice if I should buy this product or not, let me know

    AtlantaAttorney@aol.com
    Thanks,
     
  10. David_O

    David_O Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    My first test attempt to backup and restore my Win XP boot drive failed exactly as yours did -- my test restore failed to boot completely and hung at the two-tone blue screen. Like you, I have two partitions on my boot drive (C and D). Like you, I imaged and tried to restore just the boot partition (C).

    Searching this forum, I found a blurb from tech support that said if you have multiple partitions on your boot drive you must image and restore the ENTIRE drive, not just the boot partition. I then proceeded to do exactly that -- I imaged the entire boot drive (partitions C & D) and saved the image to another drive. Then I swapped out the good boot drive and replaced it with a with a test drive and performed a restore from the imaged data (choosing the option to restore both partitions). The test drive booted just fine to XP Pro -- exactly as advertised. I hope this helps.

    To Acronis: If this information about having to image the ENTIRE boot drive is in the user manual, my cursory scan did not find it. If the information is indeed not in the user manual, I feel that Acronis should add it ASAP so that users such as Yozza and I wouldn't have to sift through this forum to find out why we can't boot. Even more, I expect there are many users who would never test their images by trying to restore to a test boot drive. Such users would be setting themselves up for a very unhappy experience if their boot drive ever did fail and they tried to restore it using just the boot sector image of a muilt-sector boot drive (the only image they made because the caveat was not in your user manual).
     
  11. Yozza

    Yozza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Good call dude, I will try the above and see what happends. After just a small test on an 8gb drive that didnt work, I am hesitate to try it on a raid system with 80gb and 120gb back up USB drive :doubt: But will give a go. Hey thanks to all who have posted, I find that guys on a forum who are doing the deed are twice the knowledge than the support you get from the product owners, so cheers guys and have a "bud" on me :cool:
     
  12. AnthonyV

    AnthonyV Guest

    I have discovered a similar problem on two separate systems, one with WinME and another with WinXP Home.

    XP Home System.
    ===============================
    I had a system that had 2 partitions (HP Recovery (Hidden), C: System).

    1) I created an Acronis Secure zone on another physical drive and installed the boot manager.

    2) I backed up and then restored just the C: partition so that I could shrink the partition size.

    3) I created a new partition in the now empy space on the primary drive named D:.

    4) Now the primary drive has three partitions (HP Recovery [Hidden], C: System, D: Data).

    Now whenever I start that system cold it comes to a blank black screen with a blinking cursor in the top left corner. If I hit CNTRL-ALT-DEL at this point it restarts and loads properly. (That part makes no sense to me). Every time I start that system I now have to go through this two step process. (Start and restart)

    At the time I did not know what this meant. Now I know it means that the MBR is messed up in some fashion. My question is, how can I repair it. True Image does not seem to have a way to repair the MBR. It also does not give any way of removing the boot manager.
    ==================================


    WinME
    ==================================
    I have another system again with two drives.

    The first drive has three partitions. C: System, D: Data, and E: Music.
    The second drive has one partition + the Acronis Secure Zone with the boot manager enabled.

    1) A friend had his system go south on him so he asked me to copy some files off his Hard Drive.
    2) I pulled my second drive and attached his disk.
    3) I restarted my system but it would no longer boot. Same blank black screen with the cursor at the top left.
    4) So I put by original secondary drive back and everything was fine.
    5) I could not find any way to remove the boot manager from the True Image application. (without destroying the secure Zone)
    6) In the end I fixed the MBR with "fdisk /mbr".
    7) With the MBR (Master Boot Record) replaced I could now pull the second drive and my system would continue to boot correctly.

    In this second case it looks like the loader in the MBR is not smart enough to fail over to the original partition in the event that the Acronis Secure Zone is not available. I don't like that because now my system is dependent on two drives not failing.

    ================================================

    I think the lesson to me is, remove all Acronis Boot loaders and just keep the recovery boot CD handy.

    Anthony
     
  13. nicco

    nicco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem. It happens using both Ghost or True Image. However, it only happens when I originally boot from the cloned drive with the original drive NOT PRESENT. If I boot from the cloned drive with the oringinal drive connected, it logs into windows just fine and I believe the problem dissapears afterthat.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.