[xp] does it use stone age 8.3 naming conventions ?, how can i change it

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129
    i discovered that when i use iview media player 3.1 to send files to bibble (is a photographic software) , iview send the path like

    C:\DOCUME~1\my computer\DOCUME~1\images208DCE~1\image01.jpg

    well i found that others software send files using the 8.3 naming conventions

    i found that some batch doesn't work , for the 8.3 naming conventions



    how can i know if my xp pro sp2 with the last patches uses 8.3 naming conventions?

    and how can i changed it?


    but it still doesn't work


    can somebody help me?
    thanks
    best regards
     
  2. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Did you reboot after changing the reg value?
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129

    yes i did:doubt: :doubt:
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  5. Cosmo 203

    Cosmo 203 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    165
    There is an option in IrfanView (Others 3), whether to use short names.
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129
    sorry i did not understand well , should i keep NtfsDisable8dot3NameCreation=0 like default?
     
  7. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    Wandering a little off-topic, but ...

    I find there's wild variations in how various older apps cope with long file names, and compatibility with Windows. I've got an antique copy of dBase for Windows (paid for) and an equally antique copy of Graphics Workshop Pro (shareware, guilty, yer honor) both of which supposedly support long names. GWP, however, will not accept spaces or many other non-alpha characters in the name and either objects or simply deletes them.

    Oddly, the debugger module in dBase refused to run on my old 98SE system (didn't recognize Win version) but is fine under XP without touching compatibility settings-properties.

    One thing I do frequently in dBase is run dir .... > (textfile), for subsequent conversion to a database. This generates the classic DOS 7 characters plus "~", so I'll typically wind up with a number of identically named files which of course generates errors. So I manually convert to 8.3 first, typically by deleting characters from the middle, and include an error-checking routing in dBase to make sure I didn't miss any or miscount characters.
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    You might want to be careful disabling this anyway, some apps require it to be enabled to work properly. I seem to recall some Symantec app that needed it enabled. If you disable it and get odd things happening with any app then you may have to set it back again... Just FYI....
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129
    thanks to all

    1)
    but a fresh install of xp pro sp2 , does it come with 8.3 naming conventions or with the new name character?

    2) how can i know if all my partitition or only someone have the 83 naming convention?

    3)what kind of setting do you use?


    have a nice day
     
  11. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Check the value immediately after, it'll be the same as mine - default. I'll venture to guess Kerodo's is left default as well.

    S
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129
    should i do with all my partition or can i do only my C: ? i mean
    Code:
    fsutil behavior set disable8dot3 1 
     
  13. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129
    i have 3 hardisk with import data
    is safe to change the partition fsutil behavior set disable8dot3 1
    and after change the regkey
    can i lose data?
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You can lose data if your drive decides to head south. What are you hoping to achieve? This opening bit describe your system?

    ========================

    Provided you've got proven backup's in place, you needn't worry much about data loss.


    S
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,129
    sorry i'm not english what 's the meaning head south?




    i can't have a backup of 3 hard disks of 320gb :(

    did you tweak to disable 8+3 naming?
     
  17. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Head South = cake, fold .... DIE! :eek::D What if those 320g's get hit by an "unexpected" bad payload?
    What advantage are you hoping to gain by disabling 8.3?

    S
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.