xp 64 bit?????

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by savagcl, Jul 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    OK guys, how about a real answer for the 64-bit support?
    Even a wag date is better than "in the future".

    very disappointed! Besides that i cannot restore my system. All this time i
    thought i had good backups.......

    Not a good show, ol'man.

    savagcl
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello savagcl,

    Could you please explain your problem? What version (and build) do you use? What wizard do you launch? What error message do you get? Where do you store the image archive? Do you try to explore image and verify it?

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  3. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Savagc,

    How long have you actually been using the "official" release of Windows XP 64bit (as opposed to some Beta version)? At this point in time, I doubt that you'll find many utilities out there that have been successfully ported to Microsoft's latest masterpiece.

    Regards
     
  4. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Acronis Support,
    I am using version 7, build 638, understand its not the latest. If there is a
    version that will do 64-bit addressing correctly, i'll need to get it.

    When i try to restore a verified image from an external harddrive, using a
    bootable CD with the recovery manager.
    I get messages stating:
    PCI: Unable to handle 64-bit address space for
    PCI: Unable to handle 64-bit address space for
    PCI: Unable to handle 64-bit address space for
    PCI: Unable to handle 64-bit address space for

    then i get:
    ata2: diasabling port

    at that point, i abort the restore.

    I verify all my images.

    As stated, if this has been fixed please provide the version and build number
    so i can get it.

    thank you,
    savagcl

    Menorcaman,
    Havent had it that long but everything i had on my old system is running fine
    on this new one (except Acronis, i mean).
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello savagc,

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    We regret to inform you that we don't guarantee that the Acronis program will be run on Windows XP 64.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  6. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    That information should be posted on your main site until such time as
    it will be supported.

    Guess its back to norton for me (and i hate norton).

    savagcl
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello savagcl,

    We have the list of supported operating systems on our web-site and there is no Windows XP 64bit at present. We do plan to implement the support for Windows XP 64bit in future versions of Acronis True Image.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  8. logikos

    logikos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    As the old saying goes, the early bird gets the worm. Whoever supports a new O/S when it comes out generally gets the largest market share. I know I check almost every day for newly-released utilities for x64 to replace those that don't work anymore since moving to it. True Image is no exception. If another vendor beats you all to the punch, then I'll go with them. It's a shame since Acronis seemed to be a very progressive company and ahead of the curve.
     
  9. Forty-two

    Forty-two Guest

    Ok, guys, two things.

    True, I agree that the first company to fix the XP64 issue gets the money. I am using and will continue to use Avast for Virus protection since they have their program anti-virus program working well; Norton is history on my box.

    I too had problems with running Acronis True Image. I could not even get XP64 to install version 8.0 of Acronis’ True Image.

    However, as Microsoft and others recommend, I am running a dual boot system, both XP32 and XP64 (build 3790 service pack 1). I installed Acronis True Image 8.0 on the XP32 drive and backed up the XP64 partition just as I had been doing with Norton’s Ghost during all the months of XP64 beta testing.

    There should be a note under:
    “System requirements”
    “Supported operating systems”
    “Windows XP”

    That states that at the current time only the 32-bit version is supported.
     
  10. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, savagcl

    Use the RescueCD [BootCD] to create and restore your Images of x64, it will work with Pata and Sata also with Array's, the OS x64 is of no consequence in Dos.

    Tried and tested OK. Ti 903 [nForce4, so should work most all MB chipsets]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.