WSA v8.0.2.127 Released

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Triple Helix, Mar 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Version 8.0.2.127 (Released March 27th, 2013)

    Improved
    • Agent shutdown speed
    • Behavior logging in WIndows Event Logs
    • Identity Shield functionality on Windows Server 2008
    • Kernel keylogger protection
    • Migration process for Prevx users to SecureAnywhere
    Added
    • A registry value of type DWORD named NoStatistics under HKCU\Software\WRData which, when set to 1, disables the behavior statistics on the status screen
    Fixed
    • An issue with changed settings and local database data on shutdown
    • Compatiblity with Jeeves GARP software
    • Identifying cloud managed configuration settings
    Other
    • Minor UI changes

    http://www.webroot.com/En_US/support-consumer-release-notes.html
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    Works fine after restarting WSA! :thumb:

    Now in my mind I see already the first people getting nervous because of the clock going still "up" in -> "Protection has been active for ..." :D , but I really wanted to be the first to say that ... no, no, no .. RELAX .. just kidding, no other regfix needed. :D

    p.s.: DON'T click on "View Details" if you have OCD etc. and are easily disturbed by growing numbers!!! :D
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 27, 2013
  3. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Nice! :D:thumb:
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    odd i just uninstalled and reinstalled and that reg key is not there at all?? or is this something i have to create a key for? i was not sure if it should have created it when reinstalling or not.
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You have to create it manually and insert the value if you want to no longer see the statistics on the front screen.
     
  6. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Wouldn't a simple tic box in settings be a better option than having to edit the reg?? o_O
     
  7. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @DBone
    I just couldn't agree more.:thumb: But hey the reg editing is better than nothing.:)
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    A new configuration option would require localization into all of the supported languages, management within the console, and updating of all of the current configuration strings. As this is a very rarely requested change, a registry option should suffice for the meantime as we're going to be making changes to the user interface for the 2014 product.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    figured that and already created it. will they be big changes for 2014 or some minor tweaking of the gui just curious
     
  10. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @PrevxHelp
    Ah I see. Then I can wait a year till you add the option in settings. Better to go in a disciplined manner.

    Say Joe, will there be a huge makeover in the user interface of 2014 version?
     
  11. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA

    Fair enough. I for one think the stats are, well, silly, so I appreciate a way to kill them. (even though I don't sound like I do) ;)
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We're still working on exploring some possibilities - more to come soon :)
     
  13. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    umm, sorry..
    WHAt is the proceedure to upgrade to the new version ?

    Hitting check for updates does not link to new version.

    ?roll out timetable or new d/l and install
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2013
  14. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    You can wait for the auto update but Webroot is deploying new updates via their servers gradually what may result in certain delay or you can update manually by the right click on WSA systray icon and choose Check for updates what should trigger the auto update. The last option is to download the installer from http://anywhere.webrootcloudav.com/zerol/wsainstall.exe and install over the existing version.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2013
  15. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    Regarding the registry tweak to hide the rolling statistics, I think the change log should reflect a user has to manually add this themselves. The way it reads implies that it has already been added in this build.

    Something like:

    Added:
    Option for a user to manually add registry entry of type DWORD named NoStatistics under HKCU\Software\WRData which, when set to 1, disables the behavior statistics on the status screen.
     
  16. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Now, if only the issues between Bitdefender AV Free/WSA/Chrome could be solved. :D
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @PrevxHelp
    Ah I see. That's great.:thumb:
     
  18. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    I do not think this is limited to the Bitdefender Free AV only, but happens with all Bitdefender products and WRSA. At least also with Bitdefender Windows 8 Security which I am using here.
     
  19. Anarion

    Anarion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Finland
    W00t! I've been wanting that statistic setting! Now if it would be possible to get rid of the orange warning when you disable firewall...

    EDIT:
    It does work.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
  20. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    W7 x64 with WSA AV 8.0.2.127 & Chrome stable 26.0.1410.43, with no other security software: When I close Chrome, it won't close all the processes and leaves a single Chrome process running that has to be shut down manually. Doesn't happen all of the time and it's hard to reproduce.
     
  21. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    @.@

    I have both 8.0.2.118 and 8.0.2.127 both showing up and active in my system tray.

    ... I should restart my computer more often than once a month. :\
     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Regarding the UI I'd really like a somewhat larger font in the next version. It would also be nice to have an alternate "dark" skin - they are sometimes easier on the eyes. Other than that the current UI is fine for me.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    From looking at your screenshot I'd say you maybe added that key to the wrong area in registry? I am using 32-bit Win7, added a DWORD (32-bit) obviously in the right place and it worked fine after restarting WSA. - If I look at my registry the surrounding entries are looking different to yours, that is what makes be believe you are in the wrong place. For example I don't have the entry "InstalledVersion" where I entered "NoStatistics". You should read the changelog (above) again and use the exact same path and I believe it will work. :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  24. Anarion

    Anarion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Finland
    (blaah)

    EDIT:
    Ohh crap... It's current user not local machine... :D Works now. I should have read it more carefully, different location than for the delete thingy.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  25. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The setting needs to be changed under HKEY_CURRENT_USER, not HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.