WSA v8.0.1.95 doesn't support DPI scaling in Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by denniz, Feb 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have WSA installed on my media-center pc which uses 150% DPI scaling to get bigger text and icons. Yesterday I noticed that certain GUI elements don't like DPI scaling. I'm not sure if this problem also existed in earlier versions of WSA. On my media-center I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 32-bit, with an GeForce 210 card with nVidia GeForce 285.62 drivers. The media-center is attached with a HDMI cable to a Samsung 40 inch full HD LCD screen on 1920x1080 resolution. See the examples below:

    webroot1.jpg
    webroot2.jpg
    webroot3.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Instead of changing DPI how about just changing the Resolution to see if that helps?

    TH
     
  3. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nope, changing the resolution isn't an option for me, since it's my media-center I want it running at 1920x1080 because I watch my movies in that resolution. :cool:

    Also WSA is the only program that I have that has this specific problem when I use 150% DPI scaling. So my guess is that it's just a fixable bug. :)
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm sure it is, I just asked to see if it WSA was OK with changing the resolution? ;)

    TH
     
  5. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, when I'm running normal 100% DPI at 1920x1080 I'm not having the problem, but the text is real tiny then. If I leave the DPI at 100% and set a lower resolution, then also I'm not having the problem. When I switch to 150% DPI and set a lower resolution, then the problem remains. But since that last setting is silly anyway.... :shifty:
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks! I have a 17" laptop with the default resolution 1920 x 1280 and I need to use my Glasses LOL

    TH
     
  7. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I run Windows 7X64 and tried to replicate your problem both in Google and IE,but i can't.No problems.My card drivers are the same as yours,the resolution.Only differences are you appear to be running Norton and our vid cards are diff(i run a gtx 470),and am conncted to a samsung23" led.IN the nvidia control panel i always click let the 3d app decide.I know sometimes when trying to play with graphics settings and getting cute with things,you wind up creating some kind of distortion.Don't think the problem is WSA honestly.I know with nvidia encouraging over the top install in the setup of the drivers,but sometimes that can cause problems.I would choose a clean install of the drivers.Or you can wait for the new nvidia drivers which are in beta now and should be released shortly.Please keep us up to date if you can.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you try uninstalling/reinstalling the browser toolbar to see if it needs to have the DPI settings configured before it installs?

    Thanks!
     
  9. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, sunday I did a complete Windows reinstall on my media-center because of an unrelated problem with something else. So the nVidia drivers I installed was a fresh installation, so no over-the-top install. I never do an over-top-install of drivers btw, I always uninstall the old drivers before installing new ones.

    I will try this and report back.
     
  10. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I completely uninstalled WSA, did a reboot and then reinstalled it, while using 150% DPI. The problem however remains.
     
  11. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Any updates on this?
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We haven't had any updates on this - it is managed by the third party code from LastPass directly so we can't change it but we've added it to the list of changes to make in the future from them.
     
  13. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thx, I'll wait for an update, I hope it's sooner then later... :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.