WSA Update: v8.0.1.161

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Triple Helix, Mar 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Both users and Closed Beta users have now been updated to v8.0.1.161 ;) It could take a few days to be fully rolled out!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2012
  2. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Thanks for the heads-up TH. I am now running the .161 update on three Win7 x64 systems.....:)
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Here is a massive change log:

    154 -> 161
    - Properly back out the installation if installed silently to an unsupported OS
    - Improved cleaning of root files
    - Added cleanup logic for a specific flavor of rootkit
    - Kill Sync process if it gets abandoned to prevent zombie processes
    - Improve IE cookie cleaning as much as can be done within Microsoft limitations
    - Improved handling of system file journaling
    - Stop trying to scan our own updates while being updated by the update that's updating us (Updates will work faster now)
    - Added some logic for unnecessary-to-scan files
    - Avoid archive bombs
    - Fixed a rare crash when firewall times out
    - Fixed an over-protective situation in ID Shield adding odd apps as protected
    - Fixed cosmetic issue with On-Upgrade introduction text
    - Fixed an issue if the agent tries to journal itself
    - Improved MBR-Scanning on Windows SBS 2011
    - Fixed issue with ADS streams and Spool drivers
    - Numerous Windows 8 improvements
    - Numerous Cleanup improvements, especially related to system files and rootkits
    - Fixed a self-monitoring issue in Bootcamp on a Mac
    - Added logic to avoid having IE panic if the cleanup is interrupted
    - Improved self-protection in some circumstances
    - Applied a workaround to Sync causing the OS to deadlock
    - Improved cleanup of Run/Search data in System Cleaner
    - Improves cleanup reliability in odd cases
    - Improved compatibility with numerous applications
    - Added logging of the specific process name when an active file infector is found
    - Numerous substantial Enterprise Agent improvements and additional capabilities
    - Fixed an issue causing the OS to complain about opening HTML pages when WSA is installed
    - Worked around issues with some broken ASUS drivers
    - Added additional self-healing capabilities
    - Corrected an issue that delayed the shutdown of the agent (This corrects numerous symptoms)
    - Worked around an issue that would cause an infinite scan state
    - Panda is not infected with Virut, despite looking like it is
    - No longer occasionally ask the user to create their account if they already created their account


    TH
     
  4. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    :eek: :eek: Thanks TH! :)
     
  5. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz...another silent update that went flawlessly...oh well, back to sleep then...WRSA is up to date & watching the shop. ;)
     
  6. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Sorry Daniel, mon ami, for posting this information in the beta forum too!
    I maintain that what concerns updated closed beta version should be also posted in the beta forum even though both beta and official version updated at the same time... I hope the moderator that closed my thread will agree that i dont agree with his decision:rolleyes: As i told him in a PM, i wonder now what's the use of the beta forum...
    Anyway, this update works like a champ!
    I do apologize for speaking my mind...

    Cheers Daniel:) ,
    Hervé
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No worries mon ami! ;)

    Daniel
     
  8. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    Another great update.My scan time improved yet again.Down to 24 seconds now.Simply awesome.Joe and the crew have really outdone themselves continuing to refine and improve this product:)
     
  9. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Interesting. I was about to ask Joe about this apparant "running a full scan making your deep scan longer" oddity because it adds more files...

    In Prevx 3.0 days your scan time would often increase little by little overtime and your only solution was a reinstall.

    Hopefully that isn't the case with WSA. :)
     
  10. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    I've been looking at the WSA deep scan, and what I've seen (your mileage may vary) is that what it seems to do is gradually, over course of approx 7-10 days, increase number of files scanned (while time doesn't increase too much)...and then seems to "drop" (sort of whitelist in cloud) about 10-12,000 files, and at that time scan becomes a bit faster with less files scanned.
    And then it starts the whole process over...until another 7-10 days pass...and so on.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Agree, thanks Webroot.:thumb:
     
  12. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Unfortunately, no fix for the EverQuest problem yet.

    Joe, any update on when it might be fixed?
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    On top of reported changes, current version support localised installations in several languages (i.e. other languages than US).

    Probably a stupid question, but will the installer automatically update the installed US WSA into localised version depending on the OS language? Or we need to manually install it and choose the language?

    I am asking since I have installed WSA on PCs (far away from me) that uses a localised MS windows and would be nice the update does eveything without me going there...

    Thanks,
    Fax
     
  14. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    Just did a manually install on top of a different OS language. And it's still in english.
    Are you sure that the current version support local languages o_O
     
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeap, run the installer then on the same window where you paste the license, choose "change installation options" (left corner) --> Change language button --> choose the preferred one! (Dutch I guess :D )

    And thanks! I got indirectly an answer to my question... :(
     
  16. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    I just did a reinstall and there is no "change language button" :blink:
     
  17. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    ooops... may be only the beta build? The build number is the same... but I will check now ... sorry
    EDIT... Yeap you are right... retail build 161 has no language option... beta build 161 yes...

    You could use the beta build with your current retail license if you dream of a localised version... should work fine.
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Only the beta versions expose the localized functionality, but we're still finishing off other changes to be fully ready with it :)
     
  19. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    Ok :thumb:

    @fax: I got a Beta keycode, and "spot on"...Dutch ;) :D
     
  20. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Not able to update automatically here yet. I usually have to wait several days the application will auto update. Good to see so many bugs fixed in one update!
     
  21. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2034813&postcount=10
    ...which is seen happening after a couple of scans following update to .161. Anyone else seen, or any comments?
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  23. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    The change logs include
    "- Added some logic for unnecessary-to-scan files"

    So possibly it's intentionally scanning less?

    I know it also caches information, so that might affect it.
     
  24. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Says normal "You are currently using the newest...etc", but something strange then happened when I tried to finish this post...rclicked icon again (to check wording, and when I returned to this, and pressed a couple of keys, got logged out of Wilders o_O :eek: But when I logged in again this post/tab was still there!
    I don't know what happened, but have got logged out a few times recently, and was thinking it was cookie-related (got one ok). I'm logged-in now on SSL, for 1st time on build .161.....Do you think there's some issue occuring with WSA, TH?
    The characteristic I was on about before was about files scanned/cloud etc

    Forgot to say, this is not closed beta (other notebook), normal WSA-E license on W8-CP + MBAM Pro + Privatefirewall.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2012
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes every looks fine with your system and yes it always shows as an AV & AS nothing new there! ;) But when I click on check for updates I get this always and I know I connected to the net or I wouldn't be able to post! As what is going on in this thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=321096

    TH

    Capture28-03-2012-9.28.39 PM.jpg Capture29-03-2012-12.43.14 PM.jpg
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.