WSA update to v7.9.0.7 ?

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Tarnak, Aug 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,619
    I am running v7.9.0.7.

    Something screwy here, because it looked like there was an update, but for some reason it didn't take.

    I just ended up with a sequence of files in my temp folder, after a reboot.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,619
    Yet, switching to another snapshot, the update went fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've pushed out an update to build 8.0.0.5 for private beta testers - could you see if it still persists after a reboot with failing to update?
     
  4. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Maybe Joe or TH will post a change log to show what was done?
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,619
    I am not in the presently in the snapshot, that failed to update.

    I will most likely get back to that tomorrow or the day after.

    Also, I have third snapshot that I will have to update, and that will likely be the next one I will boot into. ;)
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I will once it moves to the public beta :)
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,612
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: WSA update to v8.0.0.5

    I don't have that info that would be upto Joe! ;) But I can confirm that 8.0.0.5 installed without problems Win 7 x64!

    TH
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,619
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    any chance my firewall and/or identity shield stability issue was solved in it? (if you can't say here u can PM me) id really like to know if i can finally enable the identity shield? :'(
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes, I believe both are solved now (you'll need to reboot after updating to 8.0.0.x).

    Let me know your results!
     
  11. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    So far Opera hangs appear fixed by 8.0.0.5. Will keep watching. :)
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thats great news, ill be sure to test it out
     
  13. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,263
    Autoupdated to 8.x as well and even didn't notice it, so smooth it was. Running completely bugs free.
     
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a question, if i disable the automatic download and install of updates in the settings will WRSA give me a popup about new updates or will it simply not update until i open the Account menu and check for updates manually that way?
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You won't receive any updates in that case and you'll need to manually check for updates.
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Glad to hear it! :thumb:
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Excellent, thanks for the confirmation :thumb:
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We found the issue here and will have it fixed in the next update :)
     
  19. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    would it be possible to include an option in the settings to give a popup after an update has occurred to tell the user that WRSA has been updated?
     
  20. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi Joe,

    Is the EverQuest fix in? Running on v7.9.0.4 here, so I can't confirm. QA mentioned Monday that it would be in one of the next updates (they were able to reproduce).

    Kind regards,

    Geri
     
  21. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,619
    Thanks! :) ... My third snapshot updated without a hitch. Also, the troublesome snapshot has finally updated. ;)
     
  22. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well the firefox stability issue appears to be solved after using the browser for a day and i only had one crash (but that could be for other reasons since before it would be consistent crashing)

    however the firewall issue is still there, i have the firewall still set as before to allow all programs unless explicitly blocked but i still get popups for certain programs, for example i got an alert when installing directX with a game installation.
     
  23. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,619
    Spoke to soon! That troublesome snapshot is playing up, again.

    P.S. The only difference, is that I have NAV2011 in this snapshot, and GFI/Sunbelt Vipre in the other two snapshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,612
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    8.0.0.7 installed here without issues! ;)

    TH
     
  25. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,619
    After a reboot, it updated immediately, as follows:
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.