WSA update to v7.9.0.7 ?

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Tarnak, Aug 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,890
    I am running v7.9.0.7.

    Something screwy here, because it looked like there was an update, but for some reason it didn't take.

    I just ended up with a sequence of files in my temp folder, after a reboot.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,890
    Yet, switching to another snapshot, the update went fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've pushed out an update to build 8.0.0.5 for private beta testers - could you see if it still persists after a reboot with failing to update?
     
  4. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Maybe Joe or TH will post a change log to show what was done?
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,890
    I am not in the presently in the snapshot, that failed to update.

    I will most likely get back to that tomorrow or the day after.

    Also, I have third snapshot that I will have to update, and that will likely be the next one I will boot into. ;)
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I will once it moves to the public beta :)
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: WSA update to v8.0.0.5

    I don't have that info that would be upto Joe! ;) But I can confirm that 8.0.0.5 installed without problems Win 7 x64!

    TH
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,890
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    any chance my firewall and/or identity shield stability issue was solved in it? (if you can't say here u can PM me) id really like to know if i can finally enable the identity shield? :'(
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes, I believe both are solved now (you'll need to reboot after updating to 8.0.0.x).

    Let me know your results!
     
  11. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    So far Opera hangs appear fixed by 8.0.0.5. Will keep watching. :)
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thats great news, ill be sure to test it out
     
  13. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Autoupdated to 8.x as well and even didn't notice it, so smooth it was. Running completely bugs free.
     
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a question, if i disable the automatic download and install of updates in the settings will WRSA give me a popup about new updates or will it simply not update until i open the Account menu and check for updates manually that way?
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You won't receive any updates in that case and you'll need to manually check for updates.
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Glad to hear it! :thumb:
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Excellent, thanks for the confirmation :thumb:
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We found the issue here and will have it fixed in the next update :)
     
  19. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    would it be possible to include an option in the settings to give a popup after an update has occurred to tell the user that WRSA has been updated?
     
  20. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi Joe,

    Is the EverQuest fix in? Running on v7.9.0.4 here, so I can't confirm. QA mentioned Monday that it would be in one of the next updates (they were able to reproduce).

    Kind regards,

    Geri
     
  21. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,890
    Thanks! :) ... My third snapshot updated without a hitch. Also, the troublesome snapshot has finally updated. ;)
     
  22. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well the firefox stability issue appears to be solved after using the browser for a day and i only had one crash (but that could be for other reasons since before it would be consistent crashing)

    however the firewall issue is still there, i have the firewall still set as before to allow all programs unless explicitly blocked but i still get popups for certain programs, for example i got an alert when installing directX with a game installation.
     
  23. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,890
    Spoke to soon! That troublesome snapshot is playing up, again.

    P.S. The only difference, is that I have NAV2011 in this snapshot, and GFI/Sunbelt Vipre in the other two snapshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    8.0.0.7 installed here without issues! ;)

    TH
     
  25. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,890
    After a reboot, it updated immediately, as follows:
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.