WSA suggestions thread

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Dermot7, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. Saint Satin Stain

    Saint Satin Stain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL and Greenwich Village, NYC
    Sometimes windows freeze and it's WSAC blocking, the block dialogue box hidden behind.
    Have the dialogue box stay on top by default
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Which block dialog in particular - firewall/malware/or an event? It should be pushing it to the top, but Windows tries to prevent this to avoid user experience issues.

    Thanks!
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,803
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The "malware blocked" alert shown there is intentionally pushed into the background, to avoid interrupting the user (as we already took care of the threat). However, other interaction-required prompts "should" be pushed to the foreground, although indeed, the OS tries to prevent this to keep the user experience consistent.

    A screenshot or text from the prompt you're seeing would definitely help narrow it down.

    Thanks!
     
  5. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,372
    Joe, we have been talking about this issue on community as well, pending a fix.
     
  6. explanoit

    explanoit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    Joe,
    Can you have someone enable all Windows features on 8.1 Pro with Media Center and whitelist everything?
    I noticed in a full scan you're missing some components on the whitelist.
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Will do, thanks!
     
  8. PC_Fiddler

    PC_Fiddler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Yorkshire - UK
    The ability to right click the WSA icon in the tray & have an 'optimise now' option would be most useful instead of having to go options in the main program - Obviously this would depend how often you use the system optimisation function but to me it would be a nice addition :argh: :D
     
  9. mwb1100

    mwb1100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    I'm still trialing WSA, but I have a suggestion:

    I have already been bitten more than once by a non-functioning clipboard when dealing with a program that's being protected by Identity Protection/Identity Shield. When the clipboard doesn't work, it takes me a few minutes of bewilderment before realizing that WSA might be blocking things (and this is even after it happened already the day before).

    It would be nice if WSA could popup a toast* notification when it's performing a clipboard block when you try to perform the paste so you'll have an idea of why it's not working.

    * "toast" is Microsoft's informal term for the small notifications that slide up unobtrusively form the notification area and fade away by themselves after a few seconds
     
  10. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    205
    I agree with this as it is confusing to users as to why they cannot paste sometimes. I think you can change one/some of the shield settings to show a pop-up but I have never reliably got this to work.

    I would also like to see an advanced option for a notification when a new process/program is being monitored. A normal user would not want this but I think many advanced users would. If not a visible notification then a pop-up when hovering (or right clicking) on the icon. Just to make it a little easier then having to go to the "Control active processes" option to see if anything new is being monitored.
     
  11. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,541
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    May I humbly suggest that any such suggestions are raised as a feature request in the Ideas Exchange in the Webroot Community Forum site. The Development Team monitor this and so it is the quickest way to bring this sort of thing to their attention.

    Regards


    Baldrick
     
  12. brihy1

    brihy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    usa
    Can you please add thumbnail view in backup and sync.Impossible to no what picture you need to download unless opening or on a phone downloading it(very hard if you have hundreds of pictures).It is much easier if there is an thumbnail next to the picture.I use skydrive and used sugarsync and dropbox and they all have this feature.Thanks
     
  13. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,346
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Did you get Image View to work ok for you now? view pictures online - Webroot Community
    And if not, contact Support?
    Could be an idea to add the suggestion about thumbnail viewing to that thread also, and give it a 'bump'?

    Webroot Secure Anywhere Context Help
     
  14. brihy1

    brihy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    usa
    Never did get image view to work correctly with a lot of pictures saved.Although webroots support is very good I just don't have time to schedule a phone call at home.Anyway the image view doesn't replace thumbnail view(especially on phones) which in my opinion is a must and is what backup and sync is missing and needs.I already added a suggestion in the webroot idea exchange.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.