WSA increasing MBAM scan time?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by crapbag, Mar 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    Evening all,

    I'm using WSA AV in real-time and MBAM on demand.

    When I scanned using just MBAM on my system it only took around 15 minutes to do a full scan.

    With WSA AV installed and active it takes me almost 40 minutes to scan with MBAM.

    Would this happen with any other scanner I use?

    The only thing I can think of is that the files MBAM is scanning are also being analysed by WSA AV's real-time module, increasing the duration.
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    MBAM scans files in a manner which causes WSA to sometimes intercept them. It shouldn't produce any negative result, however - the downside of slightly longer scan times is that they're being checked by two engines at once. That being said, we're looking into ways of "stepping out of the way" while MBAM scans to help avoid this, although I believe the case with MBAM is unique as I haven't heard of other AVs causing the same issue.
     
  3. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    Thanks for your help! :thumb:
     
  4. Jeroen1000

    Jeroen1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    162
    I'd replace slightly by "considerably longer" Joe:)). I tried it not too long ago. CPU-usage shoots to 90-100%. Just shut down Webroot temporarily(!) when doing an MBAM-scan.
     
  5. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    I just let MBAM do its thing and return to the machine when its done :) Was certainly curious about the cause of the lag.
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I had a problem with VIPRE AV only with Prevx 3 on my VM's as it would take 5 to 10 minutes to do a Prevx 3 scan as both would scan the same file at the same time but I don't see any problem with VIPRE AV & WSA on my VM's now which is a good thing! ;)

    TH
     
  7. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    I remember when using real-time Prevx that a notification window would pop up whenever a file was being analysed. Has this feature been incorporated into WSA?

    Due mostly to paranoia I do a full scan weekly with MBAM, so is WSA checking over the same files every time? This might be a rookie question :D but does it not remember that it has checked and verified these files already?
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes under settings then Scan settings!

    TH

    02-04-2012 5-29-55 PM.png
     
  9. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    :D Done! Thanks.
     
  10. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    I was wondering why MBAM Pro scans took longer than usual. I thought is was MBAM. Just did the following MBAM Pro scans on my old computer:

    With WSAE on: Objects scanned: 255873 - 1 Hr. 20 Min. 21 Sec.
    With WSAE off: Objects Scanned: 255869 - 47 Min. 21 Sec.

    Thanks crapbag for posting this find. :)
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Is that a full scan with MBAM realtime protection enable? I'm going to try a MBAM scan as I don't have Realtime protection on and I will post back!

    TH
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Your very welcome! ;)

    TH
     
  13. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    :) wasn't sure if it was just me messing up!
     
  14. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    Be interesting to know if the MBAM real-time module makes a difference.
     
  15. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Yes, both scans had realtime enabled.
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you both disable realtime protection and do a full scan of C drive only and we will all see our results?

    TIA,

    TH
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You wont believe this! So to me it looks like it has to do with MBAM realtime Protection module! I will do a scan with realtime MBAM protection on and I can compare!

    TH
    Capture02-04-2012-6.00.26 PM.jpg
     
  18. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    Whoooosh!! :eek:
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    And with protection on after a reboot to make sure the realtime protection is on! OK I have a snappy Laptop i7 processor and 16GB of DDR3 1333Mhz memory with SSD drives but that much of a difference in scan time from mine to yours?

    TH

    Capture02-04-2012-6.24.03 PM.jpg

    And also I had WSA on and this is mbam.exe activity!

    Capture02-04-2012-6.22.27 PM.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2012
  20. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    I'll say! :D

    MBAM.jpg

    This is with WSA shut down and no MBAM realtime.
     
  21. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    I got to get me one of them, My old faithful is still scanning :blink: LOL
     
  22. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    :) so the more super extreme my machine is the less likely I am to see any variation in scan time?

    I'd better start saving my pennies :D

    Currently running a MBAM C drive scan with WSA realtime on. If it finishes before I fall asleep I'll post it.

    I haven't the gall to run both in realtime in case my machine blows up lol I'll let someone else tackle that one.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    We will see if anything can be done as Joe said in post #2?

    TH
     
  24. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    :thumb: fingers crossed.

    Agree it's not a massive problem but it would be stellar if they can do this.
     
  25. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    Scan completed, MBAM realtime disabled:
    Objects Scanned: 256091, 57 Min. 53 Sec.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.