WSA FW and Windows FW.

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Heco, Dec 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hello all! :)

    After uninstalling NIS 2012 with NRT, the windows FW doesnt work any more in my 32 bits Vista Ultimate system and never starts, even though i tried every solution through Google... Since then, i noticed the padlock doesn't appear any longer on the WRSA icon in the systray when i connect to https sites!
    The integrated FW in WRSA-E will protect me despite this issue?
    Thanks for your reply.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hello Herve can you please contact WSA support and tell them the situation to get your issues fixed! http://www.webrootanywhere.com/support I also see that you have tried PrivateFirewall also so some REG keys or settings for Windows Firewall could be messed up!

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  4. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Thanks TH for your replies. So kind of you.
    I have just tried FxIT from Microsoft.... to no avail. The Windows FW is still not working...
    Then i have reinstalled PrivateFW and NOW the padlock has reappeared on WRSA icon in the systray!
    Do you think that onto WRSA FW has been able to graft PrivateFW even if the windows FW is "kaput"?
    Again thank you very much for your help.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2011
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    To me it looks like the removal of NIS did something to Windows Firewall! If your Happy with PFW and WSA is working fine now I think your good to go!

    TH
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  7. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Sorry TH for the delay... i was abroad.
    Thank you for searching a solution and providing for a link!
    To no avail unfortunately... WFW is broken!:oops: Thank you Norton!:rolleyes:
    Anyway Merry Christmas to you and your beloved ones!

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  8. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  9. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Thanks Dermot7 for helping me. I tried to repair WFW with the tool you advised me to download. But it didn't solve anything:doubt: "Windows FW can't start" when i am in administrative tools\services.
    I think there is no solution... except for a reinstallation of Vista.

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
  10. JCRUYFF

    JCRUYFF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Posts:
    87
    is Windows Management Instrumentation Services Disableo_O if yes plz enable it!!! and see if windows firewall work.
     
  11. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hey guys! i Found the solution for my vista WFW!

    Open a "run as administrator" command prompt.

    Go to "c:\windows\system32\config\TxR" (or the equivalent location on your PC)

    - run "attrib –H –S *" to make all hidden files in the directory visible.

    - run "del *.blf"

    - run "del *.regtrans-ms"

    - reboot the machine
    And Hop! Windows FW works like a champ again!:D Bye bye Norton! lol

    Hope this will help some of you!

    Cheers,
    Herve

    EDIT:
    PS: this should be done each time you uninstall a security suite!!!
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Thanks for the help :thumb:
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm glad you got it sorted Herve enjoy! ;)

    TH
     
  14. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    Wow, where did you find this procedure? Is there a FAQ/document somewhere?
     
  15. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hi Victek123! :)

    Sorry, i can't tell you... Protection of sources! I was helped by an agent from Her Majesty's MI6 Service! LOL
    @Joe and TH: Thanks!

    Cheers,
    Herve

    Edit:
    IMPORTANT: Before using the trick above, browse Windows\system32\config folder and find if the TxR folder is active and not with the extension ".old". In this case, rename it by removing ".old". Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.