WSA Essentials web threat shield

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Paul_E, Mar 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul_E

    Paul_E Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Dollar
    I have WSA Essentials but I am confused about the web threat shield indications. There are no green or red check marks against searches and no indication that is working at all!
    I am using Windows 7 32 bit plus Firefox which minutes ago changed to V11 and also IE9.
    I also have Trusteer Rapport installed in case that is an issue.
    How do I know it is present and working?
     
  2. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Perhaps Trusteer blocks the search results annotations from WSA, but you can uninstall Trusteer as WSA's Identity Shield has the same functionality as Rapport.
     
  3. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
  4. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    I've yet to see a red check mark or even yellow for suspicious. :/
     
  5. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    I'd recommend a search or two, but they're NSFW. :)
     
  6. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    I've just done a quick search for "warez". Of the first 8 pages, only one page had a site marked with a big red cross; all the rest were marked green, which I find hard to believe for some of them.

    That's the first time I've seen that big red cross so it's nice to know it does work. :)
     
  7. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    222
    truateer does block it had this issue myself
     
  8. Paul_E

    Paul_E Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Dollar
    Uninstalled Trusteer but still nothing showing.
     
  9. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    You are not alone but keep in mind Kit's explanation on the Webroot community forum.
    "The important thing to be aware of though is that even when search result annotation is not displayed, as long as the appropriate shields are on, any attempt by the browser to visit a known-malicious search result will be blocked."
     
  10. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    This is true, too. Installed Trusteer to break the checks and ecks and then tried to go to a site I knew was bad. Blocked!

    So I guess Kit is good. :)
     
  11. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    @Paul_E : What search engine are you using? Because if you're using HTTPS/SSL engine like Ixquick/Startpage/DuckDuckGo etc as far as I understand
    you won't see the ratings in that case.
    I use Startpage and see no ratings, but a switch (to test) to Yahoo e.g. then showed ratings for me, and confirmed what I've said.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have no problems using IE9 32bit & Firefox 11 with Google, Yahoo HTTP search! But I only use what is in my signature in realtime!

    TH

    Capture20-03-2012-7.25.49 PM.jpg
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    And a Blocked site!

    TH

    Capture20-03-2012-8.21.49 PM.jpg
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I just checked Google HTTPS search https://encrypted.google.com/ and got the Annotations in the results! Only in Firefox 11 but not IE9 32bit version! Can anyone else confirm?

    TH

    Capture22-03-2012-4.38.27 PM.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2012
  15. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Hello TH!
    Yes, you are right. The annotations are not displayed in IE9 32bit what is nothing new to me as I don't have the annotations at all. Either IE or Opera. However in Opera it is expected behaviour as WSA doesn't support it. Following the explanation given on the community forum I don't care about annotations already.
     
  16. Paul_E

    Paul_E Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Dollar
    Just uninstalled outpost pro and the annotations appear in Firefox but not with Google Chrome!
    Would WSA have been working correctly with Outpost pro or would some of its protection have been compromised? I had added WSA to the excluded items list in Outpost.
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Outpost is incompatible with WSA's search result annotations so they're disabled when Outpost is installed. They currently support Firefox and IE, although Google has recently made a change which pushes their search results through SSL. We are still showing annotations for Firefox but we'll need to add new processing for SSL within IE.

    However, the search result annotations are really just a small convenience - if you happened to click a malicious link, WSA would block it anyway.

    Hope that helps! :)
     
  18. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    annotations are appearing in Firefox 11 but not in IE 8.....I use ff so Joe and Webroot :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.