WSA - disable auto quarantining

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by roger_m, Feb 15, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,240
    I just installed WSA again after some time, and it would seem that there is no way to get WSA to always prompt for action rather acting automatically when finding a threat. Is there anyway to change this, as I will not use any antivirus which does not have the option to always prompt.

    Also, a minor annoyance I found was with WSA doing another scan after threats are found and action is taken. I have no problem with WSA doing this. But, I did a scan and I trusted all of the items found (due to the being installers for PUAs rather than being actual threats. WSA then decide to do another scan, which seems rather pointless as I did not remove anything found.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes you can see picture below but you will get more pop-ups you don't have to uncheck the third one.

    TH

    Sorry!

    2014.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2014
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,240
    I can't see the image.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,240
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The 2 top one's in the picture that I posted.

    TH
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,240
    That stops the auto quarantining. However it does not give any choice of what to do with the file - it just says it has been detected.

    I want the option to choose what action to take when a threat is found, and not just notified.
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It will show you what to do - if you run a scan, you'll be able to allow/monitor/remove any detected files.
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,240
    The notification just says threats detected.

    I don't want to have to run a scan to take action.
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    WSA runs a quick scan whenever threats are found so that it can detect any copies of files/other files which have changed/remnants created by a file. Even if it is set to clean automatically, it still runs a scan in the background first and then continues to clean. Running the scan before taking action allows it to ensure it will detect everything and give the best chance of cleaning up in one pass.
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,240
    Thanks for the explanation. It's back to no antivirus for me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.