WSA and VoodooShield

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Blackcat, Mar 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Anyone successfully running this combo?

    I tried a few weeks ago but kept losing the WSA tray icon; uninstalled VS and all was well.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have been using it without issues with WSA!

    TH
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Thanks, TH.

    I will try the new version of VS and see if my setup is any better.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm using it on Win 7 x64 just to let you know!

    TH
     
  5. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    You convinced me....just added it!:thumb:
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    For an added layer!

    TH
     
  7. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Yes...and it seems fine.:)
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's Cloud Based also! ;)

    TH
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Never thought of that combo. Very nice. Does this need a firewall? essentials is only outbound right?
     
  10. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    Had neverheard of it before till i saw it in TH's signature.After reading about it on the company website,it definitely uses a different approach to quash malware and certainly seems worthwhile to add to my security arsenal as part of a layered approach.Thx for sharing your experiences.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes you still need Windows Firewall or what you are already using!

    TH
     
  13. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Its not for me. I have a client w/ 2 kids using the laptop. I put WSA essentials on it. I was thinking of adding either OA or private firewall. I also was going to add avast to it as well.
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Sounds like a good setup for a layered approach! ;)

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.