WSA and Online Armor

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Mongol, Mar 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Just a quick question about WSA Essentials and OA, do they get along OK together? I'm just curious about OA's HIPS possibly locking horns with Webroots Heuristics.
     
  2. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    they get along just fine......others here also use the duo.....wsa will not work as hips unless you set heuristics to high or set it to max.........even then oa would pop-up one thing and so would wsa.....so no prob......I tried it but wouldn't use it ......oa overlaps in some ways with wsa in protection.....like oa protects hosts file and so does wsa....banking mode is more than covered by identity shield........
     
  3. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    What Firewall do you use then?

    Greats,

    darts
     
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    for sometime I used win fw......right now I use privatefirewall with wsa.......then again as I've already mentioned....oa can be used with wsa ....no prob.......in fact one can use any firewall or even another av along with wsa......and many other security software like firewall would have some overlapping with wsa for sure because wsa already gives those features......but I'm more concerned with the degree of overlapping......I try to decrease the overlapping as much as possible......
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have tried it without issues just let WSA have full rights through OA firewall and HIPS!

    TH
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    I have been using WSA with OA Premium since beta testing stage of WSA. They work well together. I do have one problem which could be a conflict between the 2. I can not use google search engine when analyze search engines results, and identify malicious websites before visitation is checked under the web threat shield in WSA. This has been the case for me since day one so I have left it unchecked ever since. I do have a conflict on my machines that does not allow me to use the above mentioned webshield, but i'm not positive its with OA, and WSA. This happens with Firefox, Opera, and internet explorer. If I try to use Google Search Engine with this shield enabled then I get a blank page that returns no results. I reported several bugs during beta testing, but I do not remember if I could narrow down the cause of this conflict or possible bug so i'm not sure if I reported it. If you try the 2 then I would suggest you exclude the entire Webroot Folder under C:/Program Files under the options settings of online armor as well as trust the WSA.exe. You want have to worry about conflict if you this. They have worked very well together. Again, the problem I just described above may not even be between OA, and WSA. I suggest you try them.
     
  7. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Thanks for the replies everyone. One other thing, should I maybe add it to OA's exclude list to help reduce any potential conflicts? Look N' Stop of course works fine but I rather hate seeing my Online Armor license sit idle with 7 months left...:blink: :D
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    this is a prob with wsa....if you leave analyze search results checked.....you'll have to go the homepage of search engines like google and search.....in that case the annotations(green tick marks) appear in http pages.....you can use the seach box if the page loads in https.....but then the annotations will not appear.....now in Firefox annotations appear in both https and http.....so the only prob in firefox is that search box is unusable in https......
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.