wp.vizu ? (be cautious, don't visit the site)

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Fly, Jul 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Over the past couple of days 'wp.vizu' (abbreviated version, since I can't post malware links) has been really obnoxious.

    I encounter it when I try to visit mainstream websites, found by googling something.

    When clicking on a search, that vizu thing really shows itself, then I see some kind of error message and I can't get to the content I wanted. Basically, I get a more or less empty screen. Sometimes trying again seems to work.

    I think it's some adware/tracking issue, so I don't recommend visiting the vizu website.

    I use McAfee Virusscan Plus, Spy Sweeper 5.5.7 (version without antivirus, tweaked settings, ad shield on), IE 7 with elevated security settings.

    That it's blocked is good.

    That I am prevented from getting to the content I wanted is not.

    I doubt if blocking it in the HOSTS file would work, since it's blocked atm anyway. Besides, I'd rather not use a HOSTS files right now. 'If it ain't broken, don't fix it.' Messing with your security can cause problems.

    Any ideas ? I encounter it on the tv.com website (result of a google search).
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2008
  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Re: http://wp.vizu.com ? (be cautious, don't visit the site)

    I don't think there's anything wrong there but if you did visit the site you would find out...
    is it any surprise that one would encounter them.

    Any screen shots of these errors, are you blocking what you want to see I don't quite understand.
     
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Re: http://wp.vizu.com ? (be cautious, don't visit the site)

    The full message: I suspect that the Spy Sweeper is blocking the http://wp.vizu.com thing, and I want to be protected from spyware, adware, tracking. But that vizu thing results in an error, and I cannot access the content (what I want to see).
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2008
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: http://wp.vizu.com ? (be cautious, don't visit the site)

    Unless I am missing something :doubt: and speaking of that wp,vizu.com URL only, there is nothing to see there because the only code is the HTML tags.

    wp_vizu.JPG
     
  5. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Re: http://wp.vizu.com ? (be cautious, don't visit the site)

    I guess all I can say is that Spy Sweeper may just not give an option to bypass the block on a website. I use Avast and its web shield will pop up and ask me if I want to continue if it runs across a bad page. If I click no it terminates the page, click yes and it let's me go to the content.

    Edit: I didn't read good enough. You say that comes up everytime you try to go ANYWHERE via Google? You sure you don't have some kind of infection?
     
  6. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Re: http://wp.vizu.com ? (be cautious, don't visit the site)

    Well, I don't see HTML tags, I just see at the bottom of my screen that an attempt is made to download an image http://wp.vizu.com/img/errinfo.gif? and some more, including the word error, and I suspect that it's abbreviated (it stops at the beginning of the right end of my screen)

    But let's not make a lot off fuss about it, I suppose Webroot will resolve the situation, and anyway, there are other websites besides tv.com ;)
     
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Doing a WHOIS on vizu.com turns up a clear, non-blacklisted site:http://whois.domaintools.com/vizu.com.

    Their site www.vizu.com displays without any problems in my Firefox and IE browsers. NoScript only shows the domain name and nothing else attached to their site. Perhaps the "wp" refers to their Web Polls?
     
  8. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    There are a few extra scripts that load with tv.com according to NoScript, perhaps one of them were flagged as bad by Spy Sweeper? Without a program like NoScript all scripts will load and it won't be real easy to determine exactly what was bad and what wasn't. And, the same scripts will sometimes not load every time even on the same websites...when you see that happen in Noscript, you usually can tell that "here now but not later" script was a real good candidate to be malicious. I might be reaching out further than needed, but just a thought.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.