wow be careful with easeus todo

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by zfactor, Nov 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    after using easeus todo workstation version 3.5 to restore a image i made i noticed some weird things one running chkdsk gave me mft errors in the bitmap.. second and this is WOW the offset for the partition that started as 1024k was now 31ko_O!!! how on earth this happened as i selected to FULLY restore the whole image including mft etc... so i went ahead and reinstalled fresh, this time using active@ first to make a image from the winpe disk then another from the easeus (workstation version winpe) boot disk. i went ahead and rebooted to the easeus disk once again. restored this image with the SAME RESULTS!! the 1024k offset now was 31k for the partition and it was showing 1024k of free space instead of 0 in diskpart...

    any ideas / thoughts or anyone have issues like this i love that easeus is free and is very full featured and would like to recc it to customers who need a good free solution but n8ot sure i can now. i was even considering using it on a couple systems myself. and now i may be glad i didnt. these issues do not occur with either active@ or ifw and both restore perfectly with a normal 1024k offset and no mft errors.
     
  2. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    I guess this means Easeus is joining the long list of imaging software that can't restore a partition where it was originally at save time. Acronis TI 2011 does the same : before restoring a partition, it wipes it first, then perform a restore, and the partition boundaries are changed. This has many (bad) side effects ! No MFT errors though.
     
  3. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    I've had issues with this with them since the beginning. All support will tell you is that this is how their algorithim works...I stopped using it. There are too many better - and cheaper - alternatives that don't mess around, like IFW/IFL/IFD.
     
  4. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    yeah i have had numerous niggly issues with Easeus, i now recommend Drive Image XML to anyone who wants an extremely reliable free imaging software
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    zfactor,

    Where was the free space in Diskpart?
     
  6. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    I never had this problem with ATI, I've used the Seagate and WD editions, also got the Acronis True Image Home 2011 retail and still never changed the partition alignment. o_O

    Even Macrium v4 and v5, PING and Clonezilla all of them respect the partition alignment, perhaps, it has something to do with your computer?
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    tried easeus on another different system same results...

    brian k it would show in diskpart where i would "list disk" then select disk 0. the size of the drive was listed as 698gb and it showed 1024k free. also note i DO NOT use the 100mb partition windows 7 tries to use i hate it personally so i dont do that.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I just tried the free version of easeus todo. Not the workstation. I imaged a Win7 partition and restored the image to the same partition and later to unallocated space after the partition had been deleted. In both cases the 2048 sector offset was preserved. I don't know why we are getting different results. I imaged from Windows and used the standard boot disk and not the WinPE boot disk for recovery.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
  9. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Any free ones?
     
  10. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    What about Paragon Free Version? Does it mess things up as well?
     
  11. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    If it's anything like the paid version, no it won't.
     
  12. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    493
    Location:
    USA
    I recently downloaded Keriver 1-Click Restore Free and based on my first backup (about 40GB) and restore attempt it did the job reliably and relatively quick. :thumb:
     
  13. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
  14. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    If your are using Windows 7 and just want a basic system image, the one built into Windows 7 does the job. Never failed me yet. The image can also be mounted in Disk Management so you can recover individual files.
     
  15. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I am using Vista. Paragon + Macrium have both failed me with different problems.

    What free imaging program can create a bootable USB rescue stick and see and recognise all hard drives, including USB hard drives?
     
  16. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I had a nightmare with EaseUS Todo Workstation v2.0 with the snapshot technology. Instead of 63 sectors, it gave me 19 sectors. Do a search on KOR to find the thread.

    No internet for the last 12 days. Barely have it now.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It has inbuilt imaging but not with the features you are after. Time to look at paid software if you want those feature (and more) in something that is reliable.
     
  18. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
  19. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hi KOR,

    I deleted my post after seeing your Reply #18. Thanks.
     
  21. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I tried EaseUS Todo Backup Free 3.5, but when trying to restore image, EaseUS Todo Backup Free doesn't see my external USB hard drive :thumbd:

    How can I create a VistaPE boot CD instead, maybe that will see my external USB hard drive?

    Where can I get The Windows® Automated Installation Kit (AIK) for Vista?
     
  22. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    -http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=9085-

    -http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=10333-
     
  23. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    The links you posted, all give this message:

    We are sorry, the page you requested cannot be found.
     
  24. SFC

    SFC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    The links works for me. You need to quit the symbol - at the start and at the end of the links.
     
  25. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.