Would you reccomend Comodo

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Albinoni, Nov 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I'm planning to try out Comodo on one of my PC's and would like your personal opinion and feedback on it. What's like, system resources, protection, GUI, ease of use etc. Is it all well worth it. Also I know it's free but how would you compare it to free Zone Alarm.
     
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I would recommend Comodo's firewall.
    Resource usage according to Task Manager in XP=27,350k.That's 2 processes,the firewall and cmdagent.
    It got "Tru Stealth" at Shields Up.
    I like the GUI.It's easy to navigate.
    There is a learning mode for Component Monitoring.
    I switched from ZA free and had no trouble using Comodo right away.
    A bonus with Comodo is that the developers actually listened to the users and made some improvements like less resources used and the Launch Pad modification.
     
  3. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    Do i recommend comodo Fw?
    Ans- Highly! EAse of use,excellent firewall,great support,few prompts,never had high memory usage problem or anything.
     
  4. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I think, that Comodo is the best free firewall and Outpost Pro the best paid one.
    BTW, I am not saying, that Outpost is better, they are both unique in something.

    I disabled Component Control (CFP passes all tests without it and it gets less popups).
    I have also disabled Aplication Behaviour Analysis and Enable Alerts (to get no popups).
    My CPF takes 16 + 6 MB after startup and when it calms down, it takes about 4 + 6 MB.
    When I was looking for a free firewall, I tried a few & stayed at CPF, no need to say more.

    You might also try Core Force, which is the ultimate free firewall for really too powerfull users.
     
  5. farad

    farad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    I think its great. The memory is the in the 20mb range, which is low, and the CPU time remains lower than most system processes and that is while gaming online for hours straight. ZoneAlarm isn't remotely in that category, it uses a lot of CPU time and memory, as do some other popular firewalls. Of course I use a router and stick to outbound protection; I don't use packet checksums and other advanced options.

    IMO it is as easy to use as ZoneAlarm. It uses a similar tabbed GUI with good default set of rules. The protection is great and the firewall has some active development going on.

    The only quirk I can complain about is that it keeps a .tmp file permanently open in the administrators temp directory. I don't know what for but it's always open and in use. The only other firewall I've seen keep a .tmp file open is Outpost.
     
  6. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Comodo is a excellent Firewall, set it and forget it. Never had a problem.
    Badcompany. :thumb:
     
  7. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I threw it out, I had issues with it with pcflank leaktest, originally it says fail, but it asks if you want to allow the results webpage. I clicked block and I couldnt view any other pages after that, it blocked them all, untill I removed Internet Explorer from the programs list..wtf!:thumbd:
     
  8. Toby75

    Toby75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    I think you need to understand the program first before mocking it. If you would have taken a look at the results page...you would have seen that the text that they had asked you to submit did not make it to their server...I've tried it several times. This means that your firewall passed the leak test!
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2006
  9. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    COMODO:thumb:
     
  10. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Excellent free Firewall...yes I do recommend to those who want a good freebie. :thumb:
     
  11. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Its ok it could not recognize some programs.
     
  12. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    decent for afree firewall.not for me thou.went back to look n stop.reminded me to much of zone alarm.too many pop ups.
     
  13. A1SteakSauce

    A1SteakSauce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    88
    i prefer zone alarm pro to anything else and i have tried outpost comodo and everything else under the sun i think the comodo firewall is ok but dont use the av yet
     
  14. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas
    I haven't tried Comodo in over a month. I thought it was pretty to look at, but that it didn't offer the fine control that I wanted. Compared to ZAfree, however, I would pick Comodo any day.
     
  15. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Travellnman said:
    decent for afree firewall.not for me thou.went back to look n stop.reminded me to much of zone alarm.too many pop ups.


    It vaguelly resembles ZA in that there are pop ups, the difference is no bugs.:D
     
  16. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Toby75, Take another look what I said in my previous post, I siad it blocked the text page, but also blocked every other webpage afterwards, that why I threw it it out ;)
     
  17. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Basically if it's as good or better than the others, and FREE!! why pay unless you are a technical user and get picky with the level of control you want? (not saying picky is bad, ok? it's refined control, i get it)

    COMODO all the way!
     
  18. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas
    Jetico v1.0 offers much greater level of control and is free :).
     
  19. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Would I recomend Comodo?
    Answer :NO!
     
  20. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    So you are angry, because Comodo blocked leak test and its injection into IE? [​IMG]
    Closing and reopening Comodo or restarting PC would allow you to use IE again. ;)
     
  21. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Cthorpe - Jetico is a version 1. It can only get better. What's good now? :)
     
  22. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Why in the hell should I have to restart my pc after a leaktest? that makes no visible sense whatsoever! thats like saying make sure you shut the door at night so burglars dont walk in, or close the door before you drive off down the road. We know these things, but restarting a computer over and over, just because you want to connect to a website? "Gimme A Break Dude" :cautious:
     
  23. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    DVD+R,
    Does this happen with other leak-tests or just the leak-test at crappy pcflank?
    Seriously.
     
  24. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Comodo closes the door, when the burglar stands right there (DLL loaded in memory).
    PCFlank DLL tries to inject other processes as well (burglar will try windows, back door).
    So restarting is like calling the police and the burglar will run away (DLL will not be loaded).
    However a mallware DLL could load at startup, so Comodo would block it to prevent the leak.
    There is a command to unload DLL, but by taking the leak test, you agree with consequences.
     
  25. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Definitely recommend it. The rate of progress has scared the pants off even the paid-for competition.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.