Would you install Russian software?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Circuit, Jun 30, 2017.

?

Would you install Russian software?

Poll closed Jul 20, 2017.
  1. Yes

    62 vote(s)
    79.5%
  2. No

    16 vote(s)
    20.5%
  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,883
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Depends on the type of app. I wouldn't install security tools and browsers coming from countries like Russia and China.
     
  2. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,982
    LOL I've just removed KIS as it's a bit problematic for my PC. And installed ZoneAlarm - AFAIK it uses some staff from Kaspersky.
     
  3. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,259
    ZoneAlarm is part of Check Point, an Israeli software company.
     
  4. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,982
    I know, I read in many places that it uses Kaspersky engine and definitions for AV.

    For example in AVC they write that ZA uses Kaspersky engine.
     
  5. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,541
    The software world cannot be divided in two separate categories, Russian software and non-Russian software. I wouldn´t use a software if it´s known that the company behind it has clear connections to the Putin government. The same applies to other governments, like the Chinese and American (= Trump) governments.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2017
  6. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,982
    I think paranoia shouldn't go too far. Otherwise you can finish saying "I won't use any human software".
     
  7. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts
    Who knows, can't tell anymore.:confused:
     
  8. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,296
    I run Kaspersky. Nothing is domestic sourced any more.

    The official panic is completely absurd given the paucity of real-world evidence.

    Besides Russia, you have China, Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania and Israel as AV/AM makers.
     
  9. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    All major tech companies of a given country somehow collude with their respective government. If not, they won't be "Major".
     
  10. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,296
    I've used Kaspersky, Kerish Doctor, Reg Organizer and others...:cool:
     
  11. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    Well, if you invested money in it....I have several Russian-made games I install without hesitation. Right now, I'm backing off from free Russian security software, until the smoke clears. Kind of changed my tune since yesterday's revelations.
     
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    883
    panic?what panic?
     
  13. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    This is referring to the US government DOD for 4 removing Kaspersky from all DOD systems based on intel we know nothing about.
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,712
    Since I am currently using KIS 2018 yes.
     
  15. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,051
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Should not even be authorized in the first place lol, government agencies and (especially DoD) should only use homemade software.
     
  16. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    883
    what?dod had russian-made sw on its systems?that's like russians using american-coded sw to control their s500's.
     
  17. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts
    I just voted No.
    Thanks for your opinions.
     
  18. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    941
    Sure, I have Adguard on some machines and I used Outpost a lot some years ago.

    It makes perfect sense, except if one works for his government.
     
  19. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,451
    Why not?
    It's not the particular country which the software originated from but the reputation of the company the software originated from.
    Only my opinion.
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,311
    Totally agree!!
     
  21. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts
    I cant trust USA software (All the backdoors, and front)
    But from a unstable country, there is no hope, and you let them because of love? :argh:
     
  22. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
    It depends on who you are and where you live
    In that case I would choose a side
     
  23. marciano222

    marciano222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Poland
    AdGuard
    I use and sometimes also other products Russian companies
    And does not care about propaganda
     
  24. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts
    Lol, :argh:
    Do you have proof?
    Just uninstalled AG, leaves about 300 values and keys, not to mention over 50 folders.
    If they come up with a clean tool remover, might be back. That is a big might.
    This, I see as relevant to the thread.
    Will not discuses software further. :shifty:
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,322
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    If it was good software I'd run it. I don't tend to take any notice of FUD, wherever it comes from. Of course, telling the difference between fake FUD and genuine FUD is getting harder every day товарищ. ;)
     
Loading...