Would Norton Antibot and ProcessGuard conflict with each other ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Livio, Sep 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Livio

    Livio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    I use Norton Antibot, and I'm considering installing ProcessGuard.( or any other HIPS, as I know that ProcessGuard is not officially supported any more, at least for now.)

    And I'm wondering whether those two softwares can cohabit without interfering or conflicting with each other, and harming each other or the system ?

    I guess there would be no problem since one is a simple behavior blocker, and the other one a pure HIPS only meant to protect the running or existing processes, but I can't be sure ...

    What do you think ?
     
  2. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    I assume that you are running an antivirus app of some sort? Personally, if you are, and you currently use Norton Antibot then you probably do not need a HIPS.

    On the other hand you could remove Antibot and go with an AV + HIPS.

    I have AV + HIPS and have not found the need for a behavior blocker. But that is just my opinion. :D
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Only way for sure to know is try it. Unless someone else has the combo running, and even that may not be conclusive.

    Of course when you do try, you'd be wise to have a way to undo it.

    Pete
     
  4. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    JUST INCLUDE EACH OTHERS PROCESS TO EXCEPTION LIST.
    BUT ITS BETTER USE ONLY ONE ITS EITHER NAB OR THE HIPS BLOCKER.

    MINE BEFORE WAS AVG + NAB - I STOP USING AVG BECAUSE SOMETIMES ITS A RESOURCE HOG. BUT NICE PROTECTION LIKE NAV.

    NOW NAV + NAB
     
  5. Livio

    Livio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Thank you Baldrick Peter2150 hex for your advice :)

    There 's no exception list in NAB, at least not in mine o_O, but there may be one in Processguard maybe, so I could only prevent Processguard from protecting NAB, Okay, might work ;)
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408

    Try.......Advanced/ Allowed/ Add
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Livio

    Livio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    I didn't even notice that tab actually !!! :argh:
    I thought there was only the quarantined tab there
    Thank you LoneWolf for having opened my eyes :D

    As I understand you run NAB and Defensewall which is a HIPS , that's what I'm considering to do, have you never had any issues running both simultaneously ?
     
  8. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    No, I have not had any problems running DefenseWall and Norton AntiBot together.
    I would suggest having a backup plan before testing differant setups though.
    Just in case something bad should happen.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.