Would Like Advice Re: Installation of Updated Build

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LaFemmeMichele, Sep 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LaFemmeMichele

    LaFemmeMichele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    142
    I purchased & installed a boxed True Image 9.0. The CD says version DPV1.1.
    The Acronis site made me aware of an updated build, version 3677. I read in True Image quickstart guide that if an old version is already installed on your PC the new version would simply update it, there was no need to uninstall the older (they were referring to versions 8 & 9). So I installed 3677 "on top of" DPV1.1, afterall it was an update of the same version 9. Is this ok or should I remove my updated TI 9 & run registry mechanic & then install 3677?
    Next question: Am I to assume I'll need to create a rescue CD in either case?
    It was included on the boxed version CD--there was no need to create one.
    Thank you for your time.
     
  2. mark3

    mark3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    Most posts here suggest that you uninstall before updating. Should you decide to go that way, the link from Acronis covers the procedure

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=773771&postcount=8

    Regarding the rescue CD, you need to create a new one with the updated software.
     
  3. LaFemmeMichele

    LaFemmeMichele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    142
    I just clicked on that link!!! & Acronis wrote that?! :blink:
    I'm not sure I can do all of that! I'm a neophyte. The quickstart guide says to remove it go to control panel, to add & remove programs-- right across from the no need to remove old version! Such incongruity.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2006
  4. mark3

    mark3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    Unfortunately your boxed version does not specify any version numbers discussed on this forum. If your current version is before 3567 then you should check whether there is a remnant of it in the registry after you have removed TI using add/remove.
    To do that click Start, Run, type regedit, click OK.
    Expand each of the follwing by clicking on the + sign
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Acronis\TrueImage
    Right-click on TrueImage and choose Delete option from a drop-down menu
    Exit the registry.
    If that entry is not there then your boxed version is at least 3567.
    Now you can install the latest version of TI.
     
  5. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    Just a point about this post as it could confuse some, and me also, in that the uninstall routine link referenced is:
    There is no mention of the home versions that a majority of users have installed. I don't know if there is a link for an uninstall of the 'home' version, but I've never cleaned the registry that well before a new installation.

    Could someone clarify this issue?

    o_O
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello LaFemmeMichele,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that there is no need to follow the manual uninstallation instructions mentioned above by mark3 unless you use build earlier than 3567. The point is that starting from build 3567 Acronis True Image 9.0 Home is based on the completely new software "engine" and there is a number of known issues that may arise upon the installation of build 3567 or higher over the top of build earlier then 3567.

    You can find the full version name and build number either by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window or by right-clicking on the product installation file in Windows Explorer, going to it's Properties and looking through Version tab.

    If you have build 3567 or higher installed then please uninstall it by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image and then install build 3677.

    In case you use build older than 3567 which is based on the old software engine, we recommend that you completely uninstall it as per instructions mentioned above and only after that install build 3677.

    You can find more information on how to use Acronis True Image 9.0 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    We also recommend that you take a look at Acronis True Image 9.0 Home FAQ page, Acronis Public Knowledge Base and this article providing the illustrated instructions on Acronis True Image 9.0 Home installation and usage.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  7. LaFemmeMichele

    LaFemmeMichele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    142
    I haven't a way of telling what the build is on the boxed TI 9 CD because I updated 3677 "on top of it". When I go to "about" it tells me 3677.
    On the boxed CD it says TI 9 PCD487CD version DPV1.1. There is no build #. Acronis must have a list of all the builds for TI 9 & respectively which build was used in version DPV1.1. I would like to know if my boxed CD is newer or older than 3567.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2006
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello LaFemmeMichele,

    Please note that as Alexey already mentioned the build number of Acronis True Image can be found if you right-click on the installation file (that stored on the CD disc) go to it's Properties and and looking at the Version tab. I have attached a screen shot for the installation file of the build 2337 as an example.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     

    Attached Files:

  9. LaFemmeMichele

    LaFemmeMichele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    142
    Alexey & Alexsandr your attentive guidance is greatly appreciated. I'm afraid my neophytivity is totally exposed. Who knew the last 4 digits on properties version "file version:" was the build! Not I. Prior to this revelation, I removed via control add/remove programs my 3677 updated boxed mystery build, pc tools registry mechaniced, rebooted & repeated. To date my system has had TI 9 trial, boxed, & the 3677 update on top of boxed installed on it. At this point what can be done prior to installing 3677 to ensure a most successful True Image experience?
     
  10. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hello Alexey,

    I'm afraid I don't remember seeing a recommendation to routinely uninstall build 2337 manually (instead of through Add/Remove Programs) before installing 3567, at any time after the latter was released.

    I uninstalled 2337 through Add/Remove Programs, like any other build before installing a new one. Build 3567 works fine for me, but 3677 used to hang, so I returned to 3567.

    After I had build 3567 already installed and following the discussion in a few threads of that time, I did delete the duplicate entry in Device Manager and just one old TI (non-Home) entry that remained in registry, I think, but I certainly didn't carry out the whole manual uninstall as detailed in your link above.

    Did I miss something, is the manual uninstallation of a pre-3567 build compulsory indeed and should I now do anything about it to avoid possible issues with future builds?

    Thank you.
     
  11. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    I agree with this statement entirely, as I also did the same thing, but used Ashampoo's Uninstaller program to unistall. I never saw that uninstall instruction posted by Acronis before these updates either.

    I never went to an upgrade past the version 9.0.0.3567 either, as that version worked fine for me, and there were so many issues reported on the versions following .3567. I'm waiting now to see if Acronis ever releases the next version, as they keep saying they will, that fixes issues such as the validation of differential backups and other issues they have been promising a fix for, but never seem to do.

    Allen
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello LaFemmeMichele, bVolk and Allen L.,

    First of all, please be aware that when I said that a number of known issues may arise if build 3567 or higher is installed on the top of the build earlier than 3567, I meant issues like this one, for example. They are not in fact problems but double registry entries, non-used folders and the alike. The manual uninstallation of builds earlier than 3567 helps you to avoid these inconveniences. Please also note that none of these issues prevents builds 3567 and higher from proper functioning. So, if the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home works fine for you, there is absolutely nothing to worry about ;)

    LaFemmeMichele, there is no need to re-install Acronis True Image 9.0 Home from the CD that came with the box in order to find out it's build number. As I have already mentioned, you can find the full version name and build number of the installation file, by right-clicking on it in Windows Explorer, going to it's Properties and looking through Version tab. So, you can browse the contents of the installation CD and check the build number of the installation file at any moment.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  13. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Thank you for this clarification, Alexey.
     
  14. LaFemmeMichele

    LaFemmeMichele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    142
    Hello Alexey,

    I put the box CD in & hit install, entered the serial number, selected setup type, administration options, got the build from the page that followed & cancelled the wizard before anything installed--no files were copied. The build was 2323.

    The good news is I'm really making headway through your manual removal instructions! I have a few questions. Please bear in mind I had removed my mystery updated double decker TI through control remove programs & run pc tools registry mechanic prior to this.

    In the following the numbers in the margin reference your manual removal steps:

    1)Acronis Secure Zone---I skipped this step. I never made a zone & TI wasn't on my pc to start. Is this appropriate? (Ques 1)

    2)After installing Windows Installer Cleanup Utility, Acronis TI wasn't there & the ominous warning (you may lose any & all programs installed) stopped me from running it. Is this ok? (Ques 2)

    3)Delete timounter value from-- At the end of the long HKEY sentence the word "upperfilters" wasn't present. Underneath were 0000, 0001, 0002, 0003, 0004, 0005, 0006. I did nothing. Are those digits the upperfilters? (Ques 3) Should any of the HKEY or the digits underneath be deleted? (Ques 4)

    5)I didn't download Aronis Scheduler Manager because I did not schedule anything. This step was skipped. Is this ok? (Ques 5)

    :cool:Delete TrueImageMonitor.exe value from--I found the HKEY sentence in its entirety, however their was no "TrueImage.exe". Underneath were optional components, IMAIL, MAPI, MSFS. Was this a sentence I was supposed to delete in its entirety? (Ques 6) I don't know how to remove the "value" part alone. I don't know which it is.

    Please address each of my questions in parentheses.

    Thank you,

    Michele

    PS Where the smiley with the dark glasses is is supposed to be the number eight--I've tried to correct it twice. It likes it there!
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello LaFemmeMichele,

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Yes, this is correct. If you did not create Acronis Secure Zone there nothing to remove.

    Most likely Acronis True Image is not in the list because you have already uninstalled it via Add or Remove Programs menu. Whatever the case, there no need to use Windows Installed Cleanup Utility if it does not show Acronis True Image in the list of programs available for uninstallation.

    As for the warning that you received, please see my post #11 in this previous thread.

    I have Acronis True Image 9.0 Home installed and my registry is shown on screen shot #1 (see below).

    If there is no UpperFilters in your registry, most likely it has been deleted by the automatic uninstallation. In this case there is no need to delete timounter value and you can skip this step.

    If UpperFilters persist in your registry, right-click on the word UpperFilters and select Modify. Then delete timounter value as per instructions (see screen shots #1 and #2).

    Please be aware that even if you did not schedule any tasks with Acronis True Image you may still have Acronis True Image scheduling service installed. Step 5 is meant for uninstalling this service. So, please download Aronis Scheduler Manager and follow the instructions.

    If TrueImageMonitor.exe value still persists in your registry, you should see it as it is shown on the screen shot #3. You can delete it by right-clicking on the word TrueImageMonitor.exe and choosing Delete.

    If there is no TrueImageMonitor.exe value in your registry, most likely it has been removed by the automatic uninstallation and this step can be skipped.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     

    Attached Files:

  16. LaFemmeMichele

    LaFemmeMichele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    142
    Hello Alexey,

    Thank you for answering my questions so thoroughly. The visuals really helped. I've successfully implemented every necessary step of your manual uninstall guide except #5:


    5.) Unregister Acronis Scheduler service: Download Acronis Scheduler Manager, run it (double-click on it) and execute the below commands:

    service stop
    service uninstall
    exit


    I downloaded Acronis Scheduler Manager, hit run, & when the black screen appeared I exited. I'm not sure how to properly write the commands. Are they in one sentence or three? Are there any symbols or letters or spacing rules, ie, \,:,... I read a backward slash was a switch? (Ques 1)

    I noted your Schedule Manager was schedmgr.exe, however I don't know how to retrieve it. I doesn't show in programs. Do I just download another? (Ques 2) And lastly, do I allow it to stay in my pc? (Ques 3) I ran a search for "Acronis" & for "True Image" just to see what, if anything, remained other than your user guide, cookies, & a bookmark or two & found 60 files under "Acronis" & 17 under "True Image" after all those uninstallation instructions had been carried out! Most of them were the types of things I would have expected, but should I delete files like the one that was a setup log? Anything in particular I should look for? (Ques 4)

    Michele
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello LaFemmeMichele,

    Could you please do the following?

    - Download Acronis Scheduler Manager application (save it to your desktop);

    - Double click on the downloaded schedmgr.exe file to execute it (black window with the command line and blinking cursor will appear);

    - Type "service stop" and press Enter;

    - Type "service uninstall" and press Enter;

    - Type "exit" and press Enter (black window with the command line will close automatically).

    The screen shots illustrating these instructions are attached below.

    You can delete schedmgr.exe file after uninstalling Acronis Scheduler Manager service.

    As for any other references to the words "Acronis" and "True Image", could you please clarify what you have found exactly?

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Michele,

    In case you need to, you can enlarge the attached screenshots provided by Alexey as follows:

    - Left click on the screenshots thumbnail to open it in a new browser window.
    - Hover your mouse over the screenshots and you will see an "Enlarge" button pop up at the bottom right corner of the thumbnail. Click this button to enlarge the thumbnail.

    Regards
     
  19. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318

    Yup, With my glasses 400 % ( what an idiotic definition of 4X) and all was revealed [​IMG]

    Xpilot
     
  20. LaFemmeMichele

    LaFemmeMichele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    142
    Hello & Thank You for Your Direction & Your Support!

    I'm really getting an education here.

    ...And at last I'm ready to install the upgraded build! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.