Would any distro allow Hulu streaming with these specs? It's a <2lbs mini-netbook

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by zapjb, Sep 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Would any distro allow Hulu streaming with these specs? It's a mini-netbook just under 2lbs.


    Processor- Via 8505 (300Mhz?)
    Display- 7" High Resolution
    TFT(800 X 480 pixels)
    Internal Memory- 128MB
    Internal Storage- 2GB Nand-flash
    Connectivity- Wifi 802.11 b/g
    Connect- 3USB Ports USB 2.0 x 1 (support external memory)
    - USB 1.1 x 2 (support keyboard & mouse only)
    SD card slot (up to 8GB)
    Microphone jack
    Earphone jack
    DC jack
    Keypad- 80 Keys
    Mouse Pad: 2.2" mouse pad
    Battery: 8.4 V 1800mAh built in Lithium battery
    Built in 2 x 0.5W speaker


    It comes with Windows CE professional plus edition. But thats gotta go. I'm thinking Puppy Linux. Then add Opera. What do you folks think?
     
  2. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    My experience has been that flash is not as well implemented in linux as in windows.

    How about windows 7 with all the unnecessary services/aero etc disabled? Or say windows 7 starter?
     
  3. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    zapjb,
    I think running puppy on that mini-netbook would be perfect. The Via 8505 is rated at 400mhz.
    As far as adobe flash you may want to have a look at the requirements.

    Regards,
    Cgeek
     
  4. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Hulu requires Flash, as already mentioned.
    For simplification, Flash in Linux is just a file in a specific location.

    If Flash is already present on your Linux Distro of choice, then use
    $find
    or
    $locate libflashplayer.so

    If that doesn't work try
    $locate mozilla | more
    (looking for the Plugins directory)

    Download Flashplayer for Linux from Adobe (tar.gz)
    Untar the file using
    $tar -xvzf <file name>.tar.gz
    Move the file.so to the mozilla/plugins directory

    Enjoy Hulu.
     
  5. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Lubuntu will, flash works fine in Linux, full screen as well, however it depends on the graphic card. 300MHz on Win7 LOLOLOLOL! less I say better.
     
  6. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    I dont think win 7 is that heavy on CPU resources, but flash is, and adobe has just better implemented flash in windows.
     
  7. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    Windows 7 in now way runs on 350MHz PC, heck it barely crawls here on my ancient dual XEON 800MHz PC with 512MB ram. lets be realistic here, yes flash is an issue but latest batch of flash works fine as long as the video drivers are in order, on nvidia GPU machines, even with x32 flash via nsplugin works fine on full screen, of course flash gives GPU acceleration under Windows, that feature is not out for Linux yet. Sadly Win7 will not run on a 350MHz CPU PC.
     
  8. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

    Couldn't agree more. On my Toshiba laptop and my HP desktop, both with Ubuntu 10.04, flash runs fine, fullscreen or not.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    As with others, flash works fine here too on linux, and I have used both the 32 bit and the former x64 flash alpha. No issues.
     
  10. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i2FASDQs-jg
     
  11. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
  12. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    Now that's a much more accurate assertion than "no way Windows 7 runs on 350 MHz". Good to see you learned something.
     
  13. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    Really, that link mentions 1GHz, unless I am wrong, 350MHz is slower than 1GHz, hopefully you learned something than just posting youtube links.
     
  14. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    When, exactly?
     
  15. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Windows 7 system requirements

    If you want to run Windows 7 on your PC, here's what it takes:

    1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor

    1 gigabyte (GB) RAM (32-bit) or 2 GB RAM (64-bit)

    16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)

    DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2010
  16. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    Oh, you're talking about Microsoft's official sys reqs.

    It's pretty much been shown that Win7 can run at much lower-end machines than officially specified by Microsoft; example being the link I posted.
     
  17. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    What does zapjb's device do with graphics?
    Does the cpu do double duty or is their a seperate dedicated graphics chip?
     
  18. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    :thumb:
    Typically, OS' dont consume much CPU by themselves. Now, if you want aero, and fancy effects, then yes CPU/GPU comes into play.

    RAM on the other hand, yes, win 7 consumes some RAM.
     
  19. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    I didnt mean flash does not work on Linux, but rather that in my experience, flash in linux consumes more CPU in linux than in windows
     
  20. katio

    katio Guest

    Have you tried Flash on Windows CE? It's probably more optimised than for Linux.
    But yeah, hardware decoding would be your best bet.
     
  21. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    To show is a different matter, youtube can show Win7 running on 100MHz Pentium, that don't make it the norm. Running 350MHz CPU is just not possible no matter what, even regular Ubuntu will have issues running it, thats why I recommend Lubuntu or DSL or Puppy.
     
  22. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136

    There are ways to avoid that if CPU becomes an issue, there is a greasemonkey script that diverts flash to mplayer which uses hw acceleration. Google Chrome comes with optimized flash which tests have show that it consumes far less CPU than regular flash, its not the end of the world and Win7 on 350MHz CPU is not the solution here.
     
  23. katio

    katio Guest

    ftfy
    We still don't know what graphic hardware we are dealing with. But still mplayer or vlc use less CPU than Adobe **** ware (tm).
     
  24. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.