WOT is the problem?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by acr1965, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I have WOT installed on FF without issue. So I install it on IE7 (Vista) and it will not work. In addition, now I get a warning everytime I try a google search that says "We're sorry...
    ... but your query looks similar to automated requests from a computer virus or spyware application...."

    I have both browsers up right now- the WOT in FF works perfectly (google searches) while the WOT in IE7 will not work at all. I have tried disabling all IE7 add-ons to no avail. Even rebooted. Anyone have any ideas what else I should check on?

    thanks
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Have you tried disabling Protected mode (IE) or UAC?
     
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    No. But I have had Finjan and Link Scanner Lite in the past and did not have to disable PM or UAC.
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Not exactly sure what happened but I closed my browser, waited a bit, opened the browser again and now Google search works and so does WOT. Are Google and WOT somehow affiliated?
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Well after tinkering a bit it appears that my PC Tools firewall is the problem.
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    FWIW- the problem only seems to be present in IE7. Firefox with PC Tools firewall works just fine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.