wormguard and nav live update

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by the mul, Aug 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    can u tell me i would like to buy wg3 but have read in past messages that there has been some conflict between wg3 and nav liveupdate.when wg3 is downloaded; nav live update stops working. can u tell me is this a minor issue with some people or very rare. should i download it or wait for wg4.
    I have nav 2003 and it work fine also tds 3 and port explorer.

    thanks
    the mul
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    For some people it can happen, for others not. It is easily solved in case it happens after installing WG to re-install the LifeUpdate again. Did you install WG already to try it out? So many users have NAV and WG running without any problems at all.
    Fingers crossed you belong to the lucky most!
     
  3. Charles Ray

    Charles Ray Guest

    the mul,

    The problem does not seem to affect the automatic live update every Wednesday. It is the manual request for live update from the NAV window. There is an easy workaround.

    Just go into C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate and make a shortcut for LUALL.EXE and put it on your desktop. That will allow you to manually activate NAV Live Update if you want to.

    You might also have to do the same for Help and Support. For that you go to C:\WINDOWS\PCHEALTH\HELPCTR\Binaries and make a shortcut for helpctr.exe.

    Am referencing Windows XP Home system and NAV 2003. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Thanks Charles:
    This is applicable to both XP Home & XP Pro whether running NAV or not
     
  5. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    Thanks for all your help; everything is working fine.

    the

    mul
     
  6. Rider1948

    Rider1948 Guest

    I have had the problem with WG3 and NAV live update. It was not fixed by uninstalling WG3 or by reinstalling live update. I had to uninstall NAV completely and reinstall the whole program (after WG3 was uninstalled). I run TDS3 with execution protection enabled. Does that give me the same worm detection protection as WG3? If so, I think I will wait for WG4 rather than deal with the hassles of Norton conflicts.
     
  7. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    No, it's not the same. TDS has some WG ingredients, but not completely. WG has several other ways of detection and reacts on other files, blocking them not byu name but detecting code and more ways, while you can check the whole file in the safe mode.
    Hope there come more suggestions which might help you on your specific system settings to enable running all together anyway.

    We're all looking forward to WG4 but 3 is still doing very fine.

    Rider, which windows version are you using?
     
  8. Rider1948

    Rider1948 Guest

    I'm using XP Home Edition. I had NAV2002 on the system when I started the process with WG3. When I reinstalled, I used NAV2003. Perhaps that alone would solve the problem, but it was a real hassle to get things working again. I had to uninstall and reinstall NAV several times before I could get it working again. But now that I know about the workaround, I'll consider trying again. In the event that I put WG3 on my system, is there any reason to run TD3 execution protection as well as having WG3 installed?
     
  9. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Sorry for your troubles!
    TDS exec protection works very different, blocking files from executing if found malicious. It is just a hook, not taking resources when asleep, but very important for further security.
     
  10. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hello Rider1948, TDS3 does not give protection against malevolent scripts as WG3 :D
    Using the "Shortcut" workaround stated above usually works.
     
  11. Rider1948

    Rider1948 Guest

    Thanks for the info. Sometime when I have the free time (in case things don't go well), I'll try WG3 again. Just to check that I understand things completely - TDS execution protection is enough different from WG3 that I should use both. Once I install WG3 protection, then I don't have to "run" the program. But to use TDS execution protection, I have to keep TDS running in the background. Did I get it right?
     
  12. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
  13. Cyborg

    Cyborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Posts:
    78
    Hi Guys,

    I have been given the link to this thread from another thread I have started today in respect of a similar problem with NAV2003.

    This morning when I turned my PC Norton Antivirus 2003 failed to run its Auto Update as per normal. I have clicked on LiveUpdate and the folowing link is what I got as an error report:-

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=46545

    Yesterday I installed WG3, TDS-3 and PE. Ie would appear from this thread that WG3 is the root cause of my problem with NAV2003 which sucks somewhat seeing as though I took WG3 as face value having not trialed it before but it came as part of a deal with TDS-3 and PE which saved me money when I purchased all 3.

    It has however caused me buckets of hassle already and I am not happy about this. I don't accept that it affects some customers but not others in respect of NAV LiveUpdate conflicts. How can this be so; a software conflict is a software conflict.

    I had "enabled" Execute Protection in TDS-3 as advised; there is also the option to "remove." I do not think that I had the option to "enable protection" when using the trial version of TDS-3 and I have not had issues with Norton failing in LiveUpdate before when running TDS-3 and PE so obviously WG3 is the culprit.

    Although I am being advised to reinstall Norton I did click on the link to their Tech Support page, this is what they advised:-

    "Situation:
    When you click the LiveUpdate button in your Symantec product, you see one or more of the following messages:

    "LiveUpdate failed to launch"
    "Unable to run LiveUpdate, LiveUpdate may have been uninstalled"
    "LiveUpdate tried to launch but was unsuccessfull, uninstall and reinstall ... (3003,103)"

    Solution:
    This can happen if LiveUpdate is damaged. To fix this, delete the file Luinsdll.dll, and install the current version of LiveUpdate."

    I did what they asked and deleted "Luinsdll.dll" and downloaded the executable version of that file and reinstalled it. I still cannot run LiveUpdate and get the same message coming up. I feel decidedly naked without Norton LiveUpdate and am concerned that uninstalling Norton and reinstalling is just going to add to a problem that is being caused by software from Wilders.

    I have now uninstalled all 3 programmes; PE, TDS-3 and WG3 before I was aware that it is WG3 causing me the hassle. Out of the 3 I am not so sure that WG3 is cleared from my PC. After uninstalling I also did a System Restore (Windows XP Home SP1) to a point before I installed PE, TDS-3 and WG3.

    I have two lots of software that I run after uninstalling software to try to detect any registry entries left on my PC. This software is UltraCleaner One Click and CCleaner. Surprisingly it did not find ant registry entries although when I went into REGEDIT I found entries for PE and TDS-3 but not WG3. Is WG3 hidden elsewhere under a different name as I want to make sure it has gone. I will wait for my "free update" to WG4 as and when it is released but wait for the Forums to let me know that this conflict with NAV LiveUpdate is fixed.

    With CCLeaner I have always been able to delete all files. I am now left with two showing which seem to be stuck i.e. I cant find them nor can I get rid of them.

    I have attached a screen shot in the hope that somebody else can tell me what these two files are - much appreciated if somebody can help.

    As things now stand my NAV LiveUpdate is working again "Hurrah" but I now do not have PE, TDS-3 or WG3 on my PC. Is is safe for me to assume that it is WG3 causing mt problem and that I can go ahead and reinstall PE and also TDS-3 and "enable protection?" I would hate to think that doing so would bring back the LiveUpdate Error once more.

    This is a long post I know but it is also my 3rd today and I just get annoyed when I have issues that could have ben avoided I guess if I had not just simply asumed that all software from Wilders would be hassle free. The thought of having to format hard drives and reinstall Windows makes me shudder.

    Thanx for yor time. :doubt:

    NB:- I am being informed by others to install ProcessGuard - maybe I won't seeing as though I have not run it before and maybe it won't work for me.

    A smooth running PC means a happy me - issues cause me to :'(
     

    Attached Files:

    • CC1.JPG
      CC1.JPG
      File size:
      52.1 KB
      Views:
      624
  14. Cyborg

    Cyborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Posts:
    78
    Sry I forgot the attachment of the issues I have with CCleaner :-

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=12940

    Although the page I am showing says applications it was also the same under Windows which is where I go to firstly to clean away any unwanted files.

    Hope somebody has some ideas as I like to see CCleaner free of clutter. It is a shock to me to see something in there that will not budge. :mad:

    Thanx again
     
  15. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Cyborg you have at least three seperate threads concerning nav live update and wormguard one has been closed and now you have started one on the same subject here. it would be appreciated if you would post any further comments on this subject in your thread here



    thank you

    bigc
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.