Working with an Archive question

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by twl845, Apr 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

Hi folks, I'm still learning FDISR from the trial copy. I successfully created an archive and located it on an external drive. It says you can't boot to an archive, so there it is on the external drive sitting there. I can't find any directions that tell me what to do with an archive once I've got one. If I need it at some point in time, how do I transform it to a snapshot and move it to the C drive so I can boot to it? Or do I move it as is to the C drive and then some how transform it to a snapshot? I'm no techi, so please try to explain in a way a dummy can understand. Thanks :D

2. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

You can use it a couple of ways.

I am assuming it is an archive of your primary snapshot. I am also assuming you have 1 additional snapshot secondary

1) while in the primary snapshot you can do a copy/update and create a new snapshot by using the archive as source, and selecting new snapshot and give it a name. That will create a brand new bootable snapshot.

2) What I do which is say I am going to try new software. I first do a copy/update from my primary snapshot, to the primary archive. Then if I want to get rid of it, I boot to my secondary snapshot, and do a copy/update from the primary archive, to the primary snapshot. Then boot back to the primary snapshot, which is now back like when I started.

THis should give you the concept.

Pete

3. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

Peter2150, Thanks, I think I get it now.:)

4. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

An archived snapshot can be used as a rollback snapshot, if your secondary bootable snapshot can't be used as a rollback snapshot anymore.