worked for over a year, then. . .

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by libbo1, Nov 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    and yup, latest version. So I deleted entire appy, new d/l and . . . same error.

    Thanks very mucho in advance!
     
  2. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    oops . . here's the pic
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi libbo1,

    Could you please click the Click here link in your screenshot and let us know what it says there?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  4. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    Thank you Pieter!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi libbo1,

    I'm just trying to get as much information as possible that could be useful for javacool here.
    What are trying to do when this happens?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  6. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    just clicking on the .exe to run. Tried to c&p entire error message . . but good ole ms wont let u copy, and finding and even opening that file is a pita!
     
  7. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey libbo1

    If you don’t mind I would like to ask some questions…

    * What version of Windows?
    * Have you tried Uninstalling Spywareblaster using its Uninstaller? Then re-boot and re-download Spywareblaster installation file and re-install?
     
  8. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    XP

    Have done all.

    Tks
     
  9. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Looks like data corruption in some form to me, have you recently checked Event Viewer for anything corresponding with bad HDD? And have you scanned your System recently with properly configured up-to-date Anti-Virus System?
     
  10. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    Yup to the av!

    See attached. Should i d/l that .dll?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    well duh! I answered my own ?

    Works now! Re-installed msvm! Thanks. I would not have thought to look at the event viewer log. Most helpful.

    But why would the vm fail out of the blue?

    Thanks all!!
     
  12. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi libbo1,

    Since you are using XP, the only thing I can think of the file was replaced by a older version by something you installed.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  13. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey Pieter_Arntz

    I don’t think that is so, I’m using Windows XP.
    And I’m using
    spywareblaster.exe[2.6.0.1]
    msvbvm60.dll[6.0.92.37]

    without any issues, I believe this users condition was file corruption..
     
  14. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    In closing thanks again!

    I guess file corruption happens more often than we realize!

    AND . . . why couldnt the initial error simply say it was because of 'so and so!!!" Instead u gotta look, ask for help, pull ur hair out, check the stars for alignment and pray for divine intervention (or a pieter/phantom!!!)

    Plug and play,, user friendly . . . BS!!!!!
     
  15. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You're quite right (as usual). I never paid attention to the version number in the screenshot. I'm using the same one.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.