won't update automatically

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Nerius, Jul 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    Im using latest Smart Security, 669, and it won't update automatically. It says everytime in the log : invalid username/password. Even though it is the right username and password. It always works update manually but it always fails autoupdate with that error, invalid username/password. Why?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Haven't you tampered with default update task settings?
     
  3. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    No i haven't changed or tampered anything.
     
  4. ingber

    ingber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    This just happened to me as well. I was looking at a webpage and noticed an orage ESS icon -- it is version 669 database 3257 and complains:
    Virus signature database update failed

    I tried to update manually several times and it kept failing. My internet connection was file as I was still online with my browser and a shell login to another remote machine.

    I rebooted and then still had to update manually -- to database 3260.

    I see no reports of any problems in my Event Viewer.

    However, in my ESS Log I see an earlier entry today under the Update Module:
    Undocumented serious error (0x%04x)

    After my recent manual update I see an entry that
    Statistical information was sent to ESET
    (Does that help me at all?)

    ?

    Lester
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2008
  5. KarlBeer

    KarlBeer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    50
    I got that error.

    Made a Rule for all my apps that had port forwarding.
    Just DENY communication at the end of the rules, I believe they read from North to SOuth?

    Anyway, things cleaned up from that.

    Seems you need to make rules to close ports this way...
     
  6. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    I did a reinstall, first completly removed all lefterover files from my documents and setting, program, etc etc, all the folders in XP since the installer never can remove/uninstall ekrn.exe from the harddrive when uninstalling. Deleted it with Unlocker.
    Also removed all entries for ESET in the registry.

    Did a clean reinstal of ESET.
    It now works update with default scheduler settings, which is every 60min.

    but changing it to like 30 min or something faster then it wont work autoupdate with the error: Invalid username/password.

    Why is that? When there is a edit to change the auto update, but it only works for 60 min, but not for checking every 10, or 30 min etc. Is this a bug or?
    Cus if ESET only accepts autoupdate every hour, then why is there a edit to change the auto update time?
     
  7. Nitrous

    Nitrous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Russia, St.Petersburg
    I have problem with automatic update too.
     
  8. Nitrous

    Nitrous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Russia, St.Petersburg
    So... Is there a solution? As I can see not only I have such problem. I can't get scheduler update(invalid username/password... WTFo_O). Only manual update works and I'm becoming nervous to press the update button every hour or two.
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Just to be sure, are those 2 programs now installed simultaneously ?
     
  10. Nitrous

    Nitrous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Russia, St.Petersburg
    I have two computers. KIS - for one machine, ESS - for another.
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    We'll check it out, but basicly users are not allowed to update in less than 60 minutes intervals which would cause high traffic on our servers and thus making update unavailable to other users.
     
  12. Nitrous

    Nitrous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Russia, St.Petersburg
    oh, I see. Maybe this is the point... Everything is normal today.:) Thanks
     
  13. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    Ah, so thats why. Then i know. Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.