Won't read XML file

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bateslabel, Jul 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I am doing a trial for our company. I am having an issue where the package won't read the xml file. I created a temp folder, shared it out, and put both the msi and the config file in the same folder. But the msi does not read the xml file. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    any messages errors or info?
     
  3. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5

    No. It just installs but without any changes listed in the xml file.
     
  4. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The config file has to be named 'cfg.xml' in order to be automaticly catched by the installer.
    Im not really sure about this, but I thought it only works if you install it silently, ie with the use of a batch file. If you just double click the MSI and follow the setup it wont catch the .xml file. (But I may be wrong on this!)

    Batch file I use looks something like this:
    Code:
    @echo off
    net use t: \\server\esetsetup /persistent:no /yes
    t:\eavbe_nt32_enu.msi /qn REBOOT="ReallySuppress"
    net use t: /delete /yes
    
    Share contains the msi installer, the config file (cfg.xml) and the above install.bat

    /edit; For more command-line options (and push installations) you can read the ERA manual. It has a client install guide.
    /edit2: In this topic I also explained how to use a self extracting file to use as a installer. Might be of use.
     
  5. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I have been trying to do a remote install doing a push installation using xml config. The file is named cfg.xml. Is that the wrong way? I am reading from the manual and unless I am reading it wrong I should be able to do it like that.
     
  6. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  7. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5
  8. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    So what is the exact problem you have with ERA? Having trouble making a package? or pushing it out to clients?

    In the first post your talking about a share and you want to install from it? (then you can use that batch file for it)
     
  9. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I was able to figure it out and it is working good now :D
     
  10. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Glad to read you have it all working :).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.