Won't read XML file

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bateslabel, Jul 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I am doing a trial for our company. I am having an issue where the package won't read the xml file. I created a temp folder, shared it out, and put both the msi and the config file in the same folder. But the msi does not read the xml file. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    any messages errors or info?
     
  3. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5

    No. It just installs but without any changes listed in the xml file.
     
  4. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The config file has to be named 'cfg.xml' in order to be automaticly catched by the installer.
    Im not really sure about this, but I thought it only works if you install it silently, ie with the use of a batch file. If you just double click the MSI and follow the setup it wont catch the .xml file. (But I may be wrong on this!)

    Batch file I use looks something like this:
    Code:
    @echo off
    net use t: \\server\esetsetup /persistent:no /yes
    t:\eavbe_nt32_enu.msi /qn REBOOT="ReallySuppress"
    net use t: /delete /yes
    
    Share contains the msi installer, the config file (cfg.xml) and the above install.bat

    /edit; For more command-line options (and push installations) you can read the ERA manual. It has a client install guide.
    /edit2: In this topic I also explained how to use a self extracting file to use as a installer. Might be of use.
     
  5. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I have been trying to do a remote install doing a push installation using xml config. The file is named cfg.xml. Is that the wrong way? I am reading from the manual and unless I am reading it wrong I should be able to do it like that.
     
  6. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  7. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5
  8. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    So what is the exact problem you have with ERA? Having trouble making a package? or pushing it out to clients?

    In the first post your talking about a share and you want to install from it? (then you can use that batch file for it)
     
  9. bateslabel

    bateslabel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I was able to figure it out and it is working good now :D
     
  10. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Glad to read you have it all working :).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.