won't launch/can I get a refund

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by napatec, Jan 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I have tried everything I can find here to get port explorer to work with exception of doing a clean install of windows and having port explorer as my only application. Of course that wouldn't be practical now would it.

    So I would like to just get a refund and forget all the hours I have invested into this.

    I noticed there are others here that still have this same unresolved issue, so it doesn't look it's going to get any attention any time soon.

    I tried using the email feature from the members area, help> registered users, but it doesn't work. I have also mailed sales@diamondcs.com.au but receive no responses. So this forum is my last resort to get service.
     
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I think it will be hard to get a refund on a product where you have the opportunity to test it to see if it plays well on your system before you buy it.
     
  3. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    yes I understand...however it was over a year ago that I downloaded and installed the demo.

    I only opened it twice and forgot about it. So when I went to run it I got the expired message and went ahead and purchased. Of course now it's a different version so I uninstalled the first one and installed the new one..which doesn't open.

    No I don't have a copy of the old one...don't even remember what version it was. I made the mistake of assuming that the new install would run.

    It would have been nice to get some support but maybe this is just a small company and they are spread too thin these days..so I'll settle for my money back.
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi there, welcome to the forum.
    Which windows version are you running, and which firewall and other security stuff?

    Normally: close all security (resident protection too),
    and depending on your firewall you might even have to uninstall it temporary (most firewalls not, only a few)
    uninstall the former Port Explorer install,
    (you might like to check for rests in the registry and in windows explorer for it's folder -- make sure at least to delete the capture.bin file or the whole folder with it)
    reboot,
    make sure all security is still disabled,
    install Port Explorer
    reboot
    now you can enable all security again and start Port Explorer, insert registration key etc.
    Now one thing:
    the members area is temporary closed due to site rebuilding, so you might have to ask support_AT_diamondcs.com.au to email it to you.

    Now if it doesn't open, do you see it as a running process in the task manager?
    Do you get any error messages?

    If it worked in the past the new program should as well, unless you changed to a mcafee firewall f.e., or lost some sytem files or have overwritten them with other versions, sucvh kind of things is to be thought about.

    If you did follow the steps like described, does Port Explorer still not open for you?
    The current build is 2.11. You might like to get a fresh download from their site, might help.
     
  5. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    thanks for trying but I did all that already

    i was running nod32, counterspy, and prevx intrusion protection.

    i uninstalled all of it including port explorer, then rebooted and downloaded another new copy of port explorer and installed it and rebooted again.

    same results, i watch the task list as i execute port explorer and it shows up for about half a second then it's gone. i can repeat this about two or three times when trying to start the program. after that it doesn't even try to show up on the task list anymore. there are no error messages, the installer states that the program installed succesfully and to reboot. i have gone through the install/uninstall about 5 or 6 times in the last few days.

    i don't have any firewall installed on my system, don't really believe in them being installed on the hard drive. my router has that already. so like i said before the only thing left is to reformat and do a fresh windows install. i'm running xp home w/sp1

    port explorer isn't important enough to make me reinstall windows at this time so i would rather have my money back unless the company wants to pay me to work on my computer.

    it's really too bad..i was looking forward to having this program as well as some of the other releases by this company. at least the free stuff works!
     
  6. Disciple

    Disciple Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Ellijay, Georgia - USA
    There is your problem, the current release version of PE does not run on SP1. There are other threads here, look through the past 30-60 days posts, including one started by myself that discuss this problem. Hopefully it will be fixed.
     
  7. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Jooske didn't mention a service pack issue, they didn't list that on the "Compatibility Issues" section of their website.

    Or on the download page with the other system requierments:

    Supported Operating Systems

    Windows 95 (with Winsock2 upgrade)
    Windows 98
    Windows 98 Second Edtion
    Windows ME
    Windows NT4 (Service Pack 4 or later)
    Windows 2000
    Windows XP
    Windows 2003


    Minimum System Requirements

    486 processor (Pentium-class or higher recommended)
    4MB RAM (128MB or higher recommended)
    1MB hard-disk space (10MB or higher recommended)
    640x480 resolution (800x600 or higher recommended)
    256 colours (65536 or higher recommended)
    Winsock2

    i'm not interested in going to sp2, it will break other things that i'll have to replace. more$$
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Did that question have in mind after knowing your windows version first.
    Think in time you'll have to get to SP2 for many reasons, hope you get it sorted out with your other stuff running on SP2 too in future.
    DCS is working from their side on Port Explorer, but if it will be able to run on SP1 i don't know. It still runs on win98 systems, so one could expect .....
    or hope .....
    Keep reading the threads and upgrades!

    For the site info:
    Think this SP2 stuff came with these later builds after version 2.000 if i remember well, and the site is under reconstruction at the moment, and this issue is being worked on so several reasons why it might not be on the site yet. Glad you found this forum for almost realtime support and info! :cool:
     
  9. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    what I would really like is just to get a refund and move on with my life. i don't want to make a career out of hanging around forums.

    i understand if they are having troubles, i just don't think they should make them my troubles by ignoring me.

    i know they wil probably come to me after they resolve the issue and want me to keep and use the program, but by making me wait they only start to piss me off.

    if they were smart they would have replied to me already and asked if i wanted to wait or get a refund right now and try again later, i could respect that...but instead they hide and avoid communicating. i've seen this before..and it's not the last time it will happen either, poor way to run a business.

    don't get me started on microsoft and their so-called operating system
     
  10. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Holidaybreak?

    You could try version 2.000 which should not have this current SP2 problem. Guess Wayne will be able to send you a download link for that.
    Email wayne and support both or PM Wayne here in the forum.
     
  11. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    thanks for the suggestions...you really are too much help,

    if i was trying to save the world i would want you on my team.

    i already emailed sales and support, it's not worth investing anymore effort chasing anyone down now. i just want to get a refund started and be done with it.

    thanks
     
  12. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    hmm, as I understand: you bought a program, can't get it to work, got help to get it to work, don't want it working anymore....
    in my opinion hardly a reason to ask for a refund o_O

    But being curious, even when you get a refund: how do you want to ensure Diamondcs that you have swallowed all copies of your licensekey??
    Dolf
     
  13. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I don't think you understand correctly,

    I don't now or ever did have a working program, if I did that would have changed everything. Do you think I am scamming to get free software? It only cost 39.95

    I make 50 and hour, it's hardly worth my time to go through all this for 39.95

    I only want my money back because I bought something that doesn't work, and it's only fair that my requests are answered by the company I purchased from. Especially after exausting all reasonable suggestions provided by other users in the forum. I really did want port explorer to work, the demo did so I had no reason to think that the paid version wouldn't. I do have a lot of respect for what these guys have accomplished, that's why I am willing to pay for their work, not steal it.

    To answer your other question, there are many ways to handle the return of a software product. I'm not a programmer but depending on the software it may be possible to disable the license, also you would have to sign a legal document stating that you have deleted/destroyed/removed all copies of the program. Why don't you try asking these guys yourself, they're not talking to me, good luck.

    However to release a product version that turns out to be betaware for some of your customers AND to ignore their attempts to contact you about it is poor business practice. You should be wondering about that as well as questioning my motives IF you are a fair and unbiased person.
     
  14. AJohn

    AJohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    935
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2006
  15. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    I understand completely. I'm also one who cannot get PE 2.1 to work. Only late in the discussion did anyone even suggest an issue with SP1. Unfortunately there does seem to be a pattern. But before I install SP2 and after reading your own story, I think I'll just forget about PE2.11 all together. Anyhow, it was TDS-3 that I really liked and as you know it's gone. So time for me to move on. I guess I'll leave them to work on their stuff downunder. Adios.
     
  16. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    thanks Ajohn and Bcool2

    your posts are a welcome change from the negative shots some of the others were generating.

    i have some good news ..wayne private messaged me back and it looks like i may get a refund after all. So if that comes through i have no business downloading anymore copies of port explorer. the trial/demo wouldn't run on my box anyway because it had already expired before i purchased, and the new version doesn't work either, don't know if my license would work on an old version. if it did i would be stuck with the old version.
    i only ran port explorer a couple of times in late 2003 so i probably wouldn't know what i was missing.

    but if my refund comes through i delete it all, fair is fair. maybe later this year i will check back to see if they have worked out the issues with this version and i'll purchase it again. i didn't receive any explanations or excuses, just a suggestion to contact their payment processor with my order number to request a refund.

    so i guess that's that for now, bcool2 you might try a private message to wayne and see how he responds.
     
  17. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    Wayne is good people. Glad that Wayne is gonna take care of you. As for me, I'll keep PE2.0 installed and go to it occasionally when I need it. But I've got bigger fish to fry these days. Maybe DiamondCS will do something really cool again in the future. I'll keep a look out. :cool:
     
  18. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hm... i have not seen any negative reactions here, only people trying to help to get the software working for everybody.
    And besides that, Wayne is the only person who can decide about possible refunds.
    In case you didn't know, i am not working for DiamondCS, just one of the experienced users, something like the VIP users at Microsofts more or less.
     
  19. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    They should pay you because your responses are always biased toward protecting their image or their software.

    Lets just agree now that we each have different opinions of what constitutes a negative response.

    It's too bad someone from DCS didn't help me get the software working.
    To this day I still have not received any responses from the emails i sent to sales or support AND there is no sign of a refund yet..but I am expecting one as Wayne doesn't seem to be opposed to it. ( I know you will put a positive spin on this )

    Most of the users in the forum are great and if the software was free then I would consider the forum excellent support. That's how it works in 99.9 percent of the Linux world, it's free so there's no company to lean on. I run a mixed network of Linux/Windows on my home network so i am very used to forum support. When I pay for software I expect the company to at least return emails and show a little responsibility to their customers.

    I now understand that DCS has some great and loyal customers around here and i probably offended some of them with my posts. How dare I come in here and start complaining about software that doesn't work and pounding my fist about refunds and such. If i had a long term relationship with DCS and their products I would probably be as loyal as some of you. I am sorry that I must have just caught them at a bad time, I wish it would have been different.

    But the truth for me and a few others is that we got a pretty raw deal, and this was my first experience dealing with DCS so what was I supposed to think, you know what they say about first impressions....
     
  20. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hope yopu get your other software and possible hardware sort out to run on SP2 soon as that is a security matter as well. Suppose with that Port Explorer will run fine for you.
     
  21. myluvnttl

    myluvnttl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Posts:
    150

    Pleased stop whining napatec, even you say you make 50/hour you will whine and cry for a 40 dollars program that seem to not YOUR computer. I brought a program that COST WAY MORE and it had some bug issue with my Window Server 2003 Enterprised SP1 and I DID NOT made a big issued like you are!!!! I bet if you pay 1,400 dollars like I did I BET YOU WILL CALL The CIA up. :cool: :cool:


    WAA WAAAA napatec!!!
     
  22. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    To all,

    Let's leave the personal comments aside. napatec voiced some concern regarding a support issue that most of us have faced at one time or another with a vendor. When you pay for a product, there are certain minimum level of service and support to be expected. Whether the price of the product constitutes your entire net worth or is a drop in the bucket is beside the point. In this case, support was found wanting and that situation should be resolved, as it appears to be the case in this instance. Regardless of the outcome, the customer deserves an explanation.

    Blue
     
  23. napatec

    napatec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    hey Blue

    I don't know if you can do this but maybe it would be a good idea to delete this thread. It doesn't serve any purpose at this point and has become less than productive.
    The only reason I started it was to attempt to communicate with DCS and then ended up in the frey.

    Since then I have been able to reach Wayne via private message and will use that method for any future communication as needed.

    thanks
     
  24. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    I'll simply close it out.

    As you note, a PM is a good way to make contact and that advice will be available for anyone performing a search and finding this thread in the future.

    Best regards,

    Blue
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.